Firefox Content Processes

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Joxx, Nov 23, 2017.

  1. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,521
    Hi.

    My Firefox upgraded to version 57 (Xubuntu 16.04) and I noticed tremendous RAM usage, up to 1 GB sometimes, due to many active processes. I checked task manager and found 2 or 3 processes along with FF's main one.
    Screenshot_2017-11-23_09-47-41.png

    I didn't know what these were until I found the answer in Preferences/Performance
    Screenshot_2017-11-23_13-11-43.png

    It was preset to 4 processes.
    But even after reducing if to 1 I still have 2 processes always running and at least 500 mb Ram usage.

    How is your experience in this department?
     
  2. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,322
    Try
    Code:
    top -n1 -o %MEM
    What do you see?

    I get something like this:
    Code:
    Tasks: 193 total,   1 running, 192 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
    %Cpu(s):  8.4 us,  3.7 sy,  0.0 ni, 86.4 id,  1.2 wa,  0.0 hi,  0.3 si,  0.0 st
    KiB Mem :  8039612 total,  3506760 free,  1207348 used,  3325504 buff/cache
    KiB Swap:  8117244 total,  8117244 free,        0 used.  6390008 avail Mem
    
      PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND            
     9761 vasa1     20   0 2402304 297396 116668 S   0.0  3.7   0:23.49 firefox              
     1517 vasa1     20   0  0.254t 193676  94268 S   0.0  2.4   1:44.77 plasmashell            
     9885 vasa1     20   0 1842416 168508  93592 S   0.0  2.1   0:11.25 Web Content            
     1666 vasa1     20   0 1455272 157880  17740 S   0.0  2.0   0:13.23 mysqld                
     1469 vasa1     20   0 1313700 153724 107776 S   0.0  1.9   0:10.37 kded5                  
     1570 vasa1     20   0 2198208 152324  55308 S   0.0  1.9   0:24.39 dropbox                
     1515 vasa1     20   0  0.251t 113500  70608 S   0.0  1.4   0:06.89 krunner                
     1510 vasa1     20   0 3211924 108156  64324 S   6.7  1.3   6:12.03 kwin_x11              
     1104 root      20   0  338048  82800  43260 S   6.7  1.0   7:23.41 Xorg
    I have just three extensions. Stylus, uBlock Origin and Resurrect Pages.


    And I've not altered Content Processes from the default.
     
  3. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    Yes, FF 57 uses a lot more memory than previous versions. In my case (Windows 10, FF x64), it´s normally 1-1.2 GB. In Task manager there are 7 processes, the "Content process limit" is 4 by default.

    So far, not a problem for me.
     
  4. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    928
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
  5. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,521
    Thanks.
     
  6. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,019
    mine is set to 6. by random, could be 7 (max) or 3, but never 1.

    extensions are bundled on one or more tasks, tabs also - but never together.
    its mozillas solution to avoid hevay memory usages vs performance and stability.
    chrome/chromium has bundeld extensions also on processes, but each tab has its own process which results in more memory usage.

    when a tab crashes only the tab crashes and not the whole firefox.
    if a child process crashes only the tabs on it die.
     
  7. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,736
  8. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,019
    idd - its called about:memory
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,156
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm not actually using FF 57, but I did check it out and from what I understood is that if you set it to 1 process, you will see a maximum of 4 FF processes (1 parent + 3 child), and this should result in way less RAM usage when compared to Chrome/Opera/Vivaldi.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.