Firefox and Sanboxie users you need to check your Firefox version!

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ratchet, Mar 1, 2015.

  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,906
    Be aware of a problem I realized today on x64 W7 SP1! You need to check what Ff version you are on. I mostly use Cyberfox and in updating and even just configuring it, I'll often have to "Disable Forced Programs" in Sandboxie. Today I noticed Ff wasn't v36, even though I knew I'd updated it a few days ago. I didn't recall recovering an image since then either. So I updated again, CCleaned, re-booted and then re-imaged only to discover I was back to v35. After eliminating CCleaner and the PC restart as possibilities, recalling my Cyberfox experiences, I updated again with Sandboxie's "Disable Forced Programs" enabled but the same thing happened. Finally, I completely exited Sandboxie and the update stuck!
     
  2. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    the typical disadvantage (beside others) while installing outside and using it inside. ofc this must fail.

    btw cyberfox became except the black theme complete futile since Mozilla themselves provide v36 for x64 and next 37beta2 will have x64 also - official!

    palemoon is based on firefox ESR v31.

    nevertheless any third-party build has some issues, especially with extensions and newer web technics. the engine stays old, no new features - maybe (!) some minor and for sure majore issues are fixed - dont expect too much. even pcxFirefox or lawlietFox (both x64) have issues while the original build dont have. compiler change does not transform an x86 product into a proper native x64. thats reason why mozilla delayed that build. and in fact x64 builds have none advantage - rather they have issues which the x86 dont have.

    HTH
     
  3. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,767
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Ratchet, I never experienced anything like you describe. Whenever is time to upgrade Firefox, I disable Forced programs and do the update unsandboxed. Then I go back to running Firefox sandboxed.

    Trying to make sense of what you describe, my guess is that you do not have your Firefox sandbox set to delete on closing. Or there were contents of Firefox 35 in the sandbox when you ran Firefox 36 in it. I think that would explain why you saw Firefox 35 running sandboxed even after upgrading unsandboxed to 36.

    Bo
     
  4. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,906
    No Bo (no pun intended), Sandboxie does delete on closing. I digress: another interesting observation is the fact that Mozilla browsers Firefox, Cyberfox and Nightly, delete immediately while IE or Windows mail take perhaps as long as five seconds.
    Anyway, I have never experienced any install issues by merely using "Disable..." either, and as I mentioned, certain times I have to do that while updating some Cyberfox function or version, but for whatever reason on my x64 W7 Sp1 PC it did occur. Ordinarily I'd admit that maybe it was my fault, because I wasn't aware of something, but the fact that it kept happening while I was trying to find out why, I feel confident in what I reported. Thank you for the reply.
     
  5. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,767
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    That is normal for IE. IE10 and 11 take a few seconds to close in task manager after you close the browser. It does that sandboxed or unsandboxed. You can check it by running IE unsandboxed, closing it, when you ll open task manager, you ll see it there for a few seconds. If your IE sandbox is taking 5 seconds to delete, I think thats not bad and I believe is taking longer in most other computers.

    I am not a IE user but the delay is one reason why I have kept IE9 in my W7. Despite what I said, I can tell you that the other day, I ran IE11 sandboxed in a friends computer after resetting his browser to get rid of a toolbar and there was no delay in deleting the sandbox. But still, I think the explanation I wrote in the top paragraph applies for most computers. If I was an everyday IE user and there was a 5, 10 seconds delay deleting the sandbox, I would get used to deleting the sandbox manually. In the past, I have done that with a couple of programs (like WMP).

    Bo
     
Loading...