Firefox addons

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rico, Aug 28, 2017.

  1. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,821
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Why would FF push Baidu? Idk but sounds infected to me.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    86,323
    Location:
    Texas
  3. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,821
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    In this case I'm glad I'm wrong for parties affected.

    And again FF shame on you. I swear before I die the word shame will be out of dictionaries & decommissioned as a word.
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,176
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Follow the money ... ;)
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,155
    i also received also that micro code update here, although i dont have baidu visible installed nor do use it. its only a fix and i think its only applied when baidu is hold by firefox in its special region. not all countries are fixed to google or yahoo search, some has yandex, some has baidu, however.

    conspiracy here is bs
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,176
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Almost certainly. My guess is Mozilla just needs more varied funding. Even if Firefox is an antitrust gambit by Google it's still a non-Chrome/Blink based alternative browser.
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,503
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    FF 67 and Baidu Update has disappeared, at least for now.
     
  8. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,821
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    I just got FF 67.
     
  9. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,155
    hopefully not more, but its your opinion, so its legit but not valid.
     
  10. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    25,229
    Mozilla releases Firefox Lockwise (formerly Lockbox) add-on
    May 29, 2019
    https://www.ghacks.net/2019/05/29/mozilla-releases-firefox-lockwise-formerly-lockbox-add-on/
     
  11. Alhaitham

    Alhaitham Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Posts:
    182
    Location:
    Egypt
  12. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    25,229
    Facebook Container v2.0 Released (June 4, 2019)
     
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    25,229
    HTTPS Everywhere 2019.6.4 Released (June 5, 2019)
     
  14. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    25,229
    New Firefox rules block extensions with obfuscated code
    June 10, 2019
    https://portswigger.net/daily-swig/new-firefox-rules-block-extensions-with-obfuscated-code
     
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    45,124
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  16. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    25,229
    Temporary Containers v1.0 Released (July 8, 2019)
    https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/temporary-containers/
    Features
    • Allow global excluding of permanent containers and domains from Isolation (#104)
    • Export/Import to/from Firefox Sync (#30)
    • Exclude colors and icons from random selection (#271)
    • Allow reordering (drag&drop) of Per Domain Isolation list (#240)
    • Add Isolation disable/enable button to popup (#170)
    • Keyboard shortcut to open active tab url in new Temporary Container (#185)
    • Reopen about:home in default container in Don't Reopen Automatic Mode (#257)
    • Make popup default tab configurable (#270)
    • Add advanced expand preferences by default choice (#278)
    • Add text box to filter per domain list (#278)
    • Allow configuration of ignored domains (#152)
    • Advanced preference to disable Per Domain "Always open in" for Temporary Containers (#245)
    • Add Global and MAC Isolation to popup
    • Isolate even if MAC assigned (#225)
    • Add bookmarks context menu (#121)
    • Switch default container color to "toolbar", fallback for Firefox < 67 to "red"
    Bugfixes
    • Mouse Click count handling (#184)
    • Don't readd removed "Ignore Requests to" domains
    • Prevent MAC Confirm Page from reopening in clean containers (#225)
    • Compatibility with TST group tabs (#264)
    • Improved Mouse Click Isolation handling (#184 #277)
    • Check that opener tab url starts with http (#264)
    • Clean up isolated mouseclick correctly (#184)
    • Fix for reused container numbers not getting removed correctly (#273)
    • Fix mouseclick cleanup (#184)
    • Only MAC isolate if currently in a permanent container (#277)
    Refactorings
    • Refactor migration to rely on version in storage (#112)
    • Refactor Mouse Click Isolation handling (#184)
    • Refactor exclude buttons and lists (#278)
    • Refactor options and popup UI to use Vue.js
    • Refactor request-handling
     
  17. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    45,124
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. NoScript 11.0 Released July 10, 2019
     
  18. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,818
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Maybe just my setup on this machine, but with Firefox 68, add-on updating seems clunky and confusing.

    I prefer to: check for updates, view available updates and update them manually.

    I have reset all add-ons to update manually, but the above procedure seems a bit unpredictable. Didn't check the release notes, so maybe I am misunderstanding or doing something wrong.

    Anyone else experiencing similar?
     
  19. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,155
    you speak about the new addon manager? you got 12 weeks to use the old one, then its gone (Firefox 70).

    extensions.htmlaboutaddons.enabled <- false

    the "update all" is gone in the new view, maybe its coming back, noone knows.
     
  20. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,818
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I think I have it figured out now: https://www.ghacks.net/2019/06/11/firefox-68-add-on-release-notes-in-add-ons-manager/
     
  21. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,155
  22. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,818
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
  23. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    25,229
    Mozilla recommends a Firefox extensions that appears to be a copycat
    July 25, 2019
    https://www.ghacks.net/2019/07/25/m...efox-extensions-that-appears-to-be-a-copycat/
     
  24. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,455
    Location:
    USA
    Meh. It's not malicious and they're all free so I doubt much will be done. It may be unethical to copy someone else's code but if it's open source I doubt any laws were broken. If you feel it's wrong don't use it. If you don't care it doesn't matter. But that's true of anything.
     
  25. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,904
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I am relatively new to FireFox. I am running Quantum latest release on Win 10 x(64) 1903.

    By problem is my uBlock TPLs including NanoDefender are not auto updating. Tried everything I can think of to have this happen including verification of all update settings and the like. I run FF 68 in permanent private mode w/all add-ons allowed therein.

    Do uBlock TPLs auto-update in the first place? Or does one have to what till the Update tab is highlighted indicating that updates are available and then click on that?
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.