Firefox addons

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rico, Aug 28, 2017.

  1. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    851
    Still not fixed by Mozilla? C’mon...
     
  2. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    1,632
    It was fixed briefly for me. Now it's gone again.
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,750
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Every time I enable Shield Studies and restart Firefox Shield Studies gets disabled again. I'm also waiting on .04.
     
  4. Apnea

    Apnea Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    By setting in about:config xpinstall.signatures.required to false the issue is fixed (I'm using FF ESR 60.6.1)
     
  5. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    13,479
    Location:
    Here
    +1. I'm not going to investigate why I can't enable studies.
     
  6. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    882
    Enabling Studies has done it for me, for now.
     
  7. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,881
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Interesting. Since they fixed the certification issue (with a temporary fix as I understand it) yesterday, I have had no problems with extensions being disabled. They all work for me in my regular browser without having to do any tweaking.
     
  8. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,971
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I have two machines with the FF add-ons problem, one is fixed the other one not, with the 'run studies' enabled.

    If I 'View Firefox studies' ... amongst a couple of other studies ...
    Under 'Completed studies'
    Both have 'hotfix-reset-xpi--verification-timestamp-1548973' marked as 'Complete'

    Under 'Active Studies'
    Only the working FF laptop also has 'hotfix-update-xpi-signing-intermediate-bug-1548973 as 'Active'
    The non-working FF laptop doesn't have this hotfix at all, in spite of exit / restarts and even reboots, after nearly a day now.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2019
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    I wonder why they pulled .04. I grabbed it while it was up and it worked. I've not had any problems with it at all.
     
  10. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    599
    Location:
    UK
    My add-ons seem to be permanently enabled now. Previously they would disable after about 20 mins and I would have to restart my browser in Sandboxie to get them back. But they have now been enabled for about 1 hour.

    I have not done anything to my settings. I have got "studies" disabled. I am running 66.0.3 64 bit.
     
  11. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    I've been using Chrome just before this Firefox fiasco started. Looks like this update slipped by Firefox QA. I'll wait until the dust settles before updating Firefox. :)
     
  12. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,972
    Location:
    Texas
  13. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,972
    Location:
    Texas
    Not working for me, with 'studies' on. Active studies show:
    upload_2019-5-5_8-33-12.png
    using: FF 66.0.3
     
  14. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,864
    Activating
    That's exactly what I did, and it solved the problem.

    However, I noticed that Canvas Blocker breaks several sites it hadn't before so I deactivated it. I don't know if it's related to that certification issue.
     
  15. ZMsiXone

    ZMsiXone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    EUROPE/poland/germany
    'studies' are enabled on two of my machines that are affected by this bug... ...but nothing happens: my add-ons are still gone.
    My third machine was not affected at all: all add-ons are still working fine.
     
  16. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    660
    Location:
    Canada
    The "active studies" fix worked for me also. Ran FF with "install active studies" checked for an hour, extensions remained activated. Unchecked "install active studies and ran FF for another hour and extensions are still activated. So far so good.
    Edit: hotfix-reset-xpi-verification-timestamp-1548973•Complete
     
  17. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,864
    What does about:studies show? It should show as active studies: prefflip-push-performance-1491171 and hotfix-update-xpi-signing-intermediate-bug-1548973, as completed studies: hotfix-reset-xpi-verification-timestamp-1548973
     
  18. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,972
    Location:
    Texas
    So some "GOT" .04! Fixed! They pulled before other machines got the update & those remain unfixed. People who got the fix .04 will get an update, & repair whatever reason .04 was pulled.

    Looking at many sites: .3 is current, I did find one site that said last updated 5/4/19. May or may not be .04

    https://windows10portal.com/download-firefox/
     
  19. ZMsiXone

    ZMsiXone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    EUROPE/poland/germany
    ****machine 01 shows:
    prefflip-push-performance-1491171•Aktiv
    hotfix-reset-xpi-verification-timestamp-1548973•Abgeschlossen (english: completed)

    ****machine 02 shows:
    prefflip-push-performance-1491171•Aktiv
    hotfix-reset-xpi-verification-timestamp-1548973•Aktiv

    this installation of firefox is stil working fine:
    ****machine 03 shows
    prefflip-push-performance-1491171•Aktiv
    hotfix-reset-xpi-verification-timestamp-1548973•Aktiv
     
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,449
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ suggest caution. VT = detections
    --
    File: Firefox_Setup_0051233271.exe
    File size: 2.04 MB (2,134,272 bytes)
    MD5 checksum: B52C3372DD11456DFD203261BF063305
    SHA1 checksum: AAC92C5C4A5E72EB3B314A38CA91F1FFD49DD7CB
    SHA256 checksum: CBEA0CDD9B4B58B6BF4EB93A5AEA0CB3296B226EAA1B7B22BB021EDB017BE410
     
  21. mary7

    mary7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Posts:
    57
    Location:
    Italy
    i had the same problem, after 6 hours of study enabled not have the fix, I read on a twitter post of Fiorefox that click in about:config the value app.normandy.first_run from false to true and restart firefox will apply the fix and it works for me now the extension works
     
  22. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,972
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks!
     
  23. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,972
    Location:
    Texas
    @mary Did not work for me. Restarting FF it reverts to 'false'
     
  24. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,972
    Location:
    Texas
    From FF
    upload_2019-5-5_10-37-45.png

    My 1548973 shows completed.
     
  25. mary7

    mary7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Posts:
    57
    Location:
    Italy
    Yes is return to false but if you go on about studies the fix is applied
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.