Firefox addons

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rico, Aug 28, 2017.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,155
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  2. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,713
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    I don't want to start anything & I thought about PMing instead of posting. But here goes.

    The owners of Opera sold Opera a few years ago to what's turned out to be a lot of people think is a nefarious company from China.

    The founder of Opera after the 2yr non-compete started Vivaldi. So that's why former Opera users like me dislike the new dis-improved Opera.

    Well now that wasn't so bad. But I won't go further.
     
  3. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,867
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    No there isn't, its all about preference. Personally I like Vivaldi because it is so flexible, you can do basically all the same tweaking with Vivaldi that you can do with Firefox. And for many things you don't have to download extensions for. I haven't tried opera for a long time but when I did I just found that Vivaldi was more flexible and I felt more home with it. I guess not that many has tried opera. People tend to stick to what they know.
     
  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,674
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Happened here also now. Many add-ons have also disappeared.

    I did backup my profile before it happened though.

    If I just wait for Mozilla to fix it rather than fiddle, will the missing add-ons return, or would I have to restore my profile?

    Will use Chromium or Vivaldi in the interim.
     
  5. DOSawaits

    DOSawaits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    469
    Location:
    Belgium
    I suspect you will easily be able to re-enable them once the fix is in.
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,713
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Am I the only one that doesn't believe Mozilla will fix this?
     
  7. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,867
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I do think Mozilla has done something now. I have FF in a sandbox that gets deleted when closed, so when the extensions get disabled, and it has taken pretty exactly 25 minutes every time, I just restart Firefox and the extensions are back, for 25 minutes. But now the extensions have "lived" for more than 45 minutes and I havent had to restart the sandbox. (touch wood)
     
  8. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    20,714
    They are working on it:
     
  9. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,674
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    What a stuff up. Embarassing.
     
  10. kls490

    kls490 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Mid Atlantic Region (USA)
    Not experiencing any issues here with FF Add-ons (YET, anyway), and I only have 4 of them [none are legacy].
     
  11. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,063
    I have 8 add-on and all of them are up and running as usual. No problems here (yet).
     
  12. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,722
    Location:
    UK
    No idea if this works as I am not a FF user
    https://www.ghacks.net/2019/05/04/your-firefox-extensions-are-all-disabled-thats-a-bug/
     
  13. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,674
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    If you are lucky, the fix will take effect before you lose your add-ons.
     
  14. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,016
    rubbish - "disabled" means disabled, not uninstalled. thus there wont any lose of settings.
     
  15. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,942
    Location:
    USA
    I enabled the "allow Firefox to run and install Studies" option and closed Firefox. When I reopened it the addons were enabled again. :thumb:
     
  16. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Works, thanks for the link stapp.
     
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,674
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    In my case, most add-ons are not 'disabled', they are gone from the add-ons list.
    Didn't work here ...

    Btw - what is Normandy, #308?

    Edit: I believe there is a 66.0.4 coming ...
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2019
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,556
    It's up. It's a release candidate. I am running it right now andn so far so good
     
  19. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    You can install extensions without account on their page. Nothing changed in this matter.
     
  20. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,713
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Well F me. I had to go the extra step after allow Firefox to run and install Studies. Restarted, rebooted still fubared. So I installed a fresh copy of FF over the old one & now my addons are working.

    So I was wrong about Moz leaving us hanging.

    But what about next month?
     
  21. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    I believe Shield studies.
     
  22. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,979
  23. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,674
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Pete, can one just install this RC over the top? http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/...s/build1/win64/en-US/Firefox Setup 66.0.4.exe

    Else I'll probably just wait ...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2019
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,556
    I installed over the top as an upgrade. So far the fix itself looks good.
     
  25. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    39,562
    Location:
    U.S.A.
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.