Firefox addons

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rico, Aug 28, 2017.

  1. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,903
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    This if "corrected" will be temporary. This will permanent in June. The extension makers will have to comply to FF new standards, or use ESR FF for a while, use a ad filled tracking machine or use another browser.

    Have I said ** Mozilla yet?
    Well then ** Mozilla!
     
  2. Surt

    Surt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Posts:
    176
    Location:
    USA
    In the meantime, to prevent the symptoms of Mozilla Browser Withdrawl, one can install PortableApps' Firefox Developer Edition, copy your profile over to it, change xpinstall.signatures.required to false.
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,749
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Seems as good a time as any for me to try the beta of NoScript for Chrome.
     
  4. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    9,218
    The config fix works for 60.3.0esr (64-bit) in Debian.
     
  5. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,314
    Location:
    Adelaide
    We do live in the lucky country, don't forget :D
     
  6. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,223
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @Krusty, "
    yah.
    Me too
    Let us know.

    Since "quantum", FF not as user friendly for me, particularly tab/session management.
    Chrome has some similar issues for me, but, always willing to try new stuff ( sort of; LOL)
     
  7. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,223
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Think that only works with Linux as OS ?
    A bit of a fiddle here to go into the other boots to change/test them all o_O
    Ill wait and use another browser.

    OOI any one tried Vivaldi lately ?
     
  8. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    9,218
    There's also a workaround for MacOS. See above. But not for Windows, that I know of.
     
  9. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,223
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yah
    Nothin' surfacing

    Is this a "BIG" thing ?
    Some seriously ****** *** posters here and there.
     
  10. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    9,218
    Last edited: May 4, 2019
  11. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,903
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    This sucks.
    And Vivaldi at this moment is hard to tweak the way I want it. Maybe I got sunsetters feels like my IQ dropped 70 points in the last few hours.
     
  12. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    9,218
    From the twitter account, they're testing a fix right now. So maybe soon.
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,749
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Cool! Thanks for the heads-up. They really do need to get on this ASAP.
     
  14. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,903
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    I wanted to thank you.

    I took the immediately offered update & I was SOL. Deleted it. Extracted again but refused the update, copied my original FF profile (Help-Trouble Shooting-Open Profile Location) closed FF first. Copied the files over not the folder name.
    Works perfect.

    Then I uninstalled ESR from separate location & left my original FF alone, I thought. The ESR uninstall took all my FF settings & copying over my saved profile didn't work.

    **** *** Firefox!

    As of now afaik Port FF works perfect. But I have a neutered regular install that I don't know that I can restore my settings when FF "fixes" this. ** FF! Not holding my breath. I'd bet FF does NOT fix this. They're going to bork these addons anyway in a month, right?
     
  15. Freki123

    Freki123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    106
    What i realy liked is i had "Check for updates" in the addon section disabled (days ago) and still my addons got disabled :D
     
  16. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,960
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Maybe miraculously, no apparent problems here in South Africa (yet).
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,819
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    zapjb,

    Restoring an image will fix Firefox but will it stay fixed?
     
  18. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    9,218
    Some extensions have already been fixed, right?

    But this this cert expiration kills almost all extensions, fixed or not.

    But you can keep using 60.3.0esr for a while, I hope. And then there's Waterfox.

    Tor browser is also affected: https://trac.torproject.org/projects/tor/ticket/30388
     
  19. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,903
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Been REALLY lazy & delinquent in imaging for a long time.
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,819
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Sorry mate but you have paid the price for not having an up to date backup image.

    Edit... you could extract your Firefox Profile from your most recent image.
     
  21. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    216
    Location:
    Bulgaria
  22. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    4,903
    Location:
    USA still the best. But getting worse!
    Correct. It'll be alright. Between everything still working in FF & everything working in Portable FF I can piece it together if I have to. I still don't think FF is coming to everyone's rescue.

    If I take the lesson. Do a current image & renew learning about Vivaldi.
     
  23. DOSawaits

    DOSawaits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    469
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hasn't happened to me, should I be afraid now ? Is something not working on my end ?
    Does the browser need to be restarted for the add-on certificates to be checked ?
     
  24. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    9,218
    No, there's nothing that you can do. Except if using Linux. Then browse about:config, and set "xpinstall.signatures.required" to "false".

    In MacOS, there's a fix involving switching to the Firefox Nightly build. But I gather that there some risk migrating yor profile to that, because it may become dependent on new features that prevent migrating back. But maybe there's a way to protect a backup profile.

    In Windows, I don't know. Maybe the same thing with the Firefox Nightly build.

    From what I've seen, they should have a fixed version ready to ship within a day or two. So upgrading with that should fix everything. But don't flail and make things worse. Even if yoiu downgrade Firefox quite a way, the missing cert will still bite you. So for now, just chill.
     
  25. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,909
    Location:
    Hawaii
    All my extensions also disappeared. I tried to restore noscript from https://addons.mozilla.org & got the message: "Download failed. Please check your connection." My connection is working just fine. Is this FF's way of telling me that I'm screwed or what?

    Also, I just had to register & login to Firefox add-ons. Once I did so, I had to respond to a verification email. Now, when I log in, it gives me a 9-digit FF user number. Is this ap-cray for real?

    I was thinking about bailing out of FF in favor of Opera, until all of this stuff gets fixed. However, other folks in this thread have mentioned going to Vivaldi or Chrome, but no has indicated they would switch to Opera. That omission gives me pause. Is there some weakness in Opera (privacy-wise & security-wise) that is causing it to be ignored? If so, please educate me. :oops:
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2019
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.