firefox 44.0 password mgr not working

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by topo, Jan 27, 2016.

  1. topo

    topo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    win764bit, norton ns22.5, ff44.0 after updating to ff44.0, the popup window for entering master password does not appear making firefox password mgr unusable. it was working great until update. anyone else seeing this? thanks
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    No, my FF40 pops the dialog window:

    2016-01-27_121359.png

    Perhaps this Master Password article could help. :doubt:
     
  3. topo

    topo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    jr thanks for your reply, but i'm confused. you are showing a screenshot of a window to change your master password. i'm talking about the popup window for entering your master password so the pw mgr can auto-fill your login info. i've been using the pw mgr for some time and it has worked great. after the update the window for entering your master password no longer appears. it just quit working. thanks
     
  4. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,283
    try paste copy of logins.json back to profile
    or, logins.json to logins.json.old + restart Firefox...
    presume you have logins.json copy
    I still get...w FF44
    Firefox Master Password.PNG
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2016
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Aah, wrong popup window on my part. My mistake! :oops:

    bjm_ is on the right path, and this Support Forum resolved issue could help as well.
     
  6. topo

    topo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    bjm & jr since the enter master password window will no longer appear, i cannot get to/or see my logins. i assume the firefox pw mgr somehow became corrupted. since it is built in to firefox, i'm guessing the only way to fix this is an uninstall/reinstall of firefox.i only have 7 logins in pw mgr. should i just delete pw mgr then do un/reinstall? i have no idea how ff pw mgr got screwed up.i'm not having much luck with pw mgrs(norton id safe and now firefox pw mgr) thanks
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,887
    Location:
    Australia
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Good find, Krusty13! :thumb:
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,887
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks JR.

    I'm only guessing that Topopurim47 in that thread is @topo in this one.

    Cheers!
     
  10. topo

    topo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    krusty13, yes you are coorect. i saw the norton thread 30 minutes after i posted here. now just waiting for firefox fix. thanks for everyone's help
     
  11. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  12. topo

    topo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    google search i found one thread from 2013 that sounds like my problem with the dialogbox/popup window not appearing.they stated deleteing key3db file and signons.sqlite file but they were unclear on the outcome.there have been over 300 views on this post, but no one has stated if they are having this problem. thanks
     
  13. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  14. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    It's working for me. Iceweasel 44, Arch Linux.
     
  15. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    732
    So, staying on 43.0.4 till 45 is released sounds like a plan to me...
     
  16. topo

    topo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    in the norton thread, the op states he has tested a firefox fix and it looks like the problem is resolved. thanks everyone for your replies and help
     
  17. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  18. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  19. topo

    topo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    jr, thanks, i got it. password mgr working again
     
  20. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Great news! :thumb: You're welcome. Take care.
     
Loading...