Firefox 3.0.2 update disaster

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by bonedriven, Sep 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    After my firefox's automatical update to 3.0.2,all my addons except Noscripts won't work at all.
    First I thought it was my own problem,but it wasn't at all.

    Firefox is good,but crashes too often.Will 3.0.3 save us soon or I should go back to 3.0.1?
     
  2. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I only have a couple add ons but do not experience problems nor crashes 3.0.2 now 3.0.3 works fine here.
     
  3. norky

    norky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Lithia, FL
    all my addons were ok :( try reinstalling
     
  4. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    3.0.3 is out now, but is is just a fix for a regression problem with 3.0.2.

    Do you run any uncommon extensions?

    You might want to do a fresh install.
     
  5. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    Between home and work, I have 25 copies of FF 3.02 installed and they are all running great. I agree that a fresh install should help...
     
  6. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    I found in the Mozilla forum there were people complaining the same issue like mine.
    I reinstalled the firefox 3.0.2 but it didn't work.Some guys reinstalled to 3.0.1 and the problem disappeared.
    I only reinstalled to 3.0.2 and installed my usual extensions but those extensions didn't work either.
    I use: adblock plus,firegestures,fox bookmark sync,ie tab,no scripts,scrap book,searchwith,stumble upon,WOT.
    After I update to 3.0.3 at the moment,all extensions including Noscripts won't work at all.
    So not all people encounter this problem?
     
  7. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    OK,I'll try to uninstall firefox totally first.:(
     
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Present FF Add-ons:
    Adblock Plus, ColorZilla, Firebug, IE Tab, NoScript, Perspectives, Redirect Remover, SQLite Manager and Web Developer.

    Went from 3.0.1 to 3.0.2 without any problems. Just updated to 3.0.3 and all add-ons are still working. FYI.
     
  9. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    I should have known earlier.It is the conflict with Threatfire!
    I did suspend TF before to check if it's the problem but It seemed not.
    This time I suspended TF and installed a new addon.After a restart,all addons are working now!
    Damn TF!

    Thanks for all your kind help!
     
  10. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,906
    Never ceases to amaze how every pc is different. I have TF, didn't disable and all went well with .2 and .3. Well not exactly, Auto Copy, just one of 10 extensions was not compatible with .2, however, I found a hack and it worked fine. Oddly, .3 came along and it never missed a beat, thought for sure I'd have to hack it again!
     
  11. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    I'd rather have TF work this way and aggrevate me occasionally than give me more of a false sense of security.
    Hugger
     
  12. Gren

    Gren Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    93
    This was driving me crazy - uninstalled and reinstalled FF. Same with all of the add ons until I came upon this thread.

    Sure enough, TF was causing the problems when trying to install add-ons. Curious messages from FF though - stating that the add-ons were not compatible with 3.0.3 rather than saying that something was wrong.

    Thanks for the info folks!
     
  13. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I had no problem with Firefox 3.0.2 and my extentions, but it did crash verry offen.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.