firefox 25 is out

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mantra, Oct 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,286
    Location:
    EU
    Dragon scored 463 + 9 bonus points.

    FF25 scored 424 + 14 bonus points
     
  2. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,390
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, that is troubling. I don't know why they feel the need to "protect" us from ourselves. For the most part only advanced users with some knowledge about security are even going to know about these settings. Do they state what the default implementation will be?
     
  4. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,611
    Location:
    Outer space
    Someone replied there, apparently it still possible to enable it again so you can tweak it in about:config again. I don't know what the new default order is going to be, they included info in an attachment, but it is unclear to me what the new order is.
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    Calomel has been updated to 0.66

    Calomel 0.66.jpg

    There's also a nicer looking toolbar icon.

    By the way when I try to connect to calomel.org I get:

    "invalid security certificate"

    "The certificate is not trusted because the issuer certificate is not trusted."

    I'll appreciate any help about how to fix this.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2013
  6. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,611
    Location:
    Outer space
    Nice, 256bit without FPS(the old FIPS mode) seems to be gone though.

    I'm not getting any error on calomel.org, this is the cert I'm seeing:
    calomel cert.png
     
  7. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, I see the same cert - can't figure out yet why it doesn't work. Here's another screenshot of what I see when trying to add an exception.

    Calomel Cert problem.jpg
     
  8. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    India
    css code to change find bar in firefox. Credit goes to aris from Mozillazine Forum

    I just tweaked it to my tastes.
    - Moved Find bar to the right and honoring the scroll bar.

    Just copy and paste the code in chrome/userChrome.css file in your profile folder.
    By default chrome folder and userChrome.css does not exists. It needs to be created.

    Thanks,
    Harsha.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,611
    Location:
    Outer space
    Strange, I have no idea.
     
  10. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,611
    Location:
    Outer space
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    v27 is here and I'm wondering if TLS 1.2 is now enabled by default?

    Edit: Went into about:config and reset TLS Max and Min to defaults - turns out Max is now 3, Min is still 0
     
  12. 1PW

    1PW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    1,126
    Location:
    North of the 38th parallel.
    Please do be careful as Firefox 27.0 is not an official release at the date/time of this post. It's still a beta.
     
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    Although it's not "official" it is released. Every time a new version is released it hits sites like MajorGeeks before it's announced and/or becomes available through the internal updater. And every time this happens we have the same discussion about waiting/not waiting, beta/final, official/not official, so please continue :cautious:
     
  14. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    India
    fyi..its available now. just updated to v27 through internal updater..
     
  15. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,611
    Location:
    Outer space
    Release notes:
    https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/27.0/releasenotes/

    It's already being distributed through the auto-updater.

    Yes TLS 1.1 and 1.2 are now enabled by default. SSL 3.0 is probably not disabled for compatibility reasons and to avoid complaining users.
    Though, I have it disabled for over a year now and found no incompatible sites.

    In addition to enabling TLS 1.1 and 1.2, FF 27 has also added support for AES-GCM ciphers, though no 256 bit or non EC:
    TLS_ECDHE_ECDSA_WITH_AES_128_GCM_SHA256
    TLS_ECDHE_RSA_WITH_AES_128_GCM_SHA256
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2014
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for confirming, and I know you meant to say enabled and not disabled.
     
  17. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,611
    Location:
    Outer space
    Whoops :D
     
  18. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,104
    Location:
    USA
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2014
  19. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,618
    One might want to watch the installer stub set-up a little closer than usual if your installing other than via the internal update.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,611
    Location:
    Outer space
    Vulnerability fixes:
    https://www.mozilla.org/security/known-vulnerabilities/firefox.html
     
  21. Kirk Reynolds

    Kirk Reynolds Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Posts:
    265
  22. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,406
    Location:
    Canada
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2014
  23. Nanobot

    Nanobot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Posts:
    460
    Location:
    Neo Tokyo
    Same here, Linux with FF 26.0 (btw where's 27.0 o_O) and all i see is a black window in the place of the video player, Chromium/Chrome on the other hand is working fine.

    "Shrug"
     
  24. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    the new version 27 still has the same bug it has always had:
    it fails sometimes to close properly and i have to use Task Manager to shut it down.
     
  25. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    I used to have that problem also. I believe I haven't encountered it since I installed extension Session Manager. Maybe it's just a spurious correlation though.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.