Firefox 13 Problem

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Trooper, Jun 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Hi folks,

    I mentioned this the other day in the release thread, but never received any feedback.

    I am unable to install or get to mozilla Firefox add ons due to a certificate issue. Its the only machine of four that I am having a problem with. Ive done multiple uninstall reinstalls, deleting of profiles etc to no avail. Attached is a picture of what I am seeing. Even doing a Google search for any firefox add on will display this page.

    Has anyone ever seen this before? Its driving me nuts. Please dont make me use IE or Chrome! :D

    Thanks in advance.

    Cheers.

    http://i46.tinypic.com/2l9oa4w.png
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  3. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    try this
    At the top of the Firefox window, click the Firefox button, go over to the Help sub-menu
    (on Windows XP, click the Help menu at the top of the Firefox window) and select Troubleshooting Information.

    Click the Reset Firefox button in the upper-right corner of the Troubleshooting Information page.

    click finish when firefox restarts
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Ive tried that as well, no dice. Even if I add the certificate, which I dont want to really do, it still bombs out. Ive disabled AV software thinking maybe something was fubar there, still no dice.
     
  6. twodogs44

    twodogs44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    109
    Could it be a security program causing the block?
     
  7. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    What security software are you using?
     
  8. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Trooper, does your clock show the current date and time?
     
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    ESS 5.2.9.1 and WSA.
     
  10. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Hi JRViejo,

    Yes it certainly does.
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
  12. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Can you try and connect in Safe mode and or restart the router/modem
     
  13. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Just taking a quick peek at this. It failed the SSL diagnostics test. However it seems to be setup correctly as per the Check SSL settings. o_O
     
  14. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    I can try safe mode for sure. Router no since this machine is at work. Though the win 7 machine right next to me on the same domain is totally fine.
     
  15. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Safe mode no worky.

    Also, in the screenshot above, at the bottom, this is what it states.

    services.addons.mozilla.org uses an invalid security certificate.

    The certificate is not trusted because no issuer chain was provided.
     
  16. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  17. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    I have. However I have not tried installing it to a new/different folder. Let me give that a shot and I will report back.

    Thanks!
     
  18. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    No dice with that either.
     
  19. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,304
    Location:
    England
  20. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I'm out of bullets; perhaps stapp's suggestion could be the ticket.
     
  21. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    One last check with DigiCert shows that services.addons.mozilla.org has a valid certificate. Just FYI.
     
  22. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
  23. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Thank you very much for all of your help JRViejo.

    Crazy that this problem is not able to be fixed. Never had this issue before period with Firefox. Figures as its my daily driver machine too!

    Cheers.
     
  24. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    is that machine fully patched via WU ?
     
  25. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I have absolutely no idea what this problem is. If it happened to me I would see what happens with a portable Firefox on the same machine. Or try running SeaMonkey as it uses the same version of Gecko as Fx. Comparing SeaMonkey with Firefox like this can sometimes reveal the source of the problem.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.