Firefox 1.0.1 Released

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by hayc59, Feb 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hayc59

    hayc59 Guest

    Firefox 1.0.1 is now available. A higher level of security has been key to Firefox’s success and the release of Firefox 1.0.1 demonstrates the Mozilla Foundation’s commitment to providing a secure Internet experience.
    We encourage you to download Firefox 1.0.1. Regular security updates are essential to maintain a safe browsing experience.
    - the sfx team
    Free Download
    Firefox 1.0.1 for Windows, English (4.7MB)
    Other Systems and Languages
    << More Info >>
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    deleted 1.0 from add/remove and installed 1.0.1 and it runs just fine. It kept all bookmarks and links.

    bigc
     
  3. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    Here's what's new
     
  4. Matt_Smi

    Matt_Smi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    359

    Same here, werid that it kept all my bookmarks,settings and extensions but nice as well.
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    all of that info is kept in a different folder than the one that add/remove deletes
     
  6. Matt_Smi

    Matt_Smi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    O I see, good to know ;)
     
  7. Matt_Smi

    Matt_Smi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    O I see, good to know ;) makes upgrading to new versions painless.
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,797
    Location:
    Texas
    Smooth! :) Definitely faster too.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2005
  9. chachazz

    chachazz Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Posts:
    840
    Installed right over top existing - no problems.!
     
  10. Hard Rocker

    Hard Rocker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Posts:
    258
    Location:
    Quebec, CANADA
    Hi, :)

    Just wondering ! Does it keep all your themes as well ?
    I use Firefox exclusively now and I would hate to lose all my Bookmarks. :(
    Is everyone SURE about these issues ? o_O

    Hard Rocker !!
     
  11. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    HA.! Love it.
    At risk of being a bore; Idiot proof again.
    Worked for me straight off :D
    Nearly overwhelmingly wonderful, the whole thing.
    All credit to those who contributed from one very happy user.
     
  12. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    I have FireFox 1.0 PR and 1.0 installed on my PC. I did not uninstall one when I installed the other. I noticed this the other day when I installed Java and Macromedia Flash and I was asked if I wanted to incorperate it with my FireFox browsers.

    Should I delete the older versions or just leave them where they are? then I will install the latest version.

    Jimbob
     
  13. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    hi, Hard Rocker :) it should be OK. if you want to be 100% sure you can make a copy of the folder at C:\Documents and Settings\user name\Application Data\Mozilla just right-click and pick copy and keep it somewhere safe. themes, extensions, bookmarks etc are kept there :)

    EDIT you might have to enable seeing hidden files and folders to get to the folder first. press the windows key and E to bring up explorer then Tools>Folder Opitions>View>show hidden files and folders
     
  14. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
  15. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Zoom, Zoom, Zoom. :cool:

    Impressive. Definitely more stable on my system than the last version. :)



    snowbound
     
  16. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    Dang!...........Now I gotta re-install the spel cheker! :D

    Dan
     
  17. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    My extensions all stayed...(al 5 of 'em!) :)
     
  18. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    I used the windows add/remove programs to uninstall FF.
    Just before uninstall completed I got a window that said
    "not all FF components were removed, do you want to remove all components"
    I clicked yes. That could be the reason.

    Dan
     
  19. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Thanks to all of you fine Creatures you answered all of my questions before I could post them. Mainly delete the old first :doubt: and what about bookmarks? Will add first chance I get.

    :) ;)
     
  20. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,797
    Location:
    Texas
    I keep a backup of my bookmarks in my documents. I have a folder called Firefox bookmarks and I export my bookmarks to that folder every so often.
     
  21. skyrighter

    skyrighter Guest

    So do we still need the SpoofStick entension with this latest release of Firefox? Or does this version of FF fix the problem?
     
  22. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,797
    Location:
    Texas
  23. nod32_9

    nod32_9 Guest

    Tested the .ZIP version. No problem with the update. New version is a RAM hog! Also CPU load constantly hits 100% when processing multiple windows at the same time. When idle, the CPU load returns to 0%. This would explain why FF may be faster with a more powerful PC. I'm running a 600 MHz PIII with 384MB and W2K SP1/WXP Pro SP1. Firefox is not know for being an efficient user of CPU clock time, but 100% CPU load for a browser? The previous version tops out around 60 to 70% on my system.

    May do a clean install and retest.
     
  24. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Posts:
    614
    Trying it now, also has anyone heard anything about netscape 8 as i am interested in trying this too.
     
  25. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I dowloaded and installed without uninstalling v 1.0. It seemed to install over OK, but today when I checked I found that I had both listed in ADD/Remove of Control Panel.
    Brilliant me, I removed version 1.0 and everything connected as I could find. Then I had no shortcut. I tried to find a way, but I think I some part of 1.1 was removed somehow.

    I finally removed 1.0.1 reinstalled it and it is going great. I should have done as suggested and removed 1.0 before installing 1.0.1.

    I was surprised that my bookmarks were still there.

    Just another experience, and Firefox is the best browser out there in my opinion.
    Thanks.


    Jerry
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.