Final version of Spyware Terminator is out!!!!!!

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by cheater87, Aug 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
  2. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Final as in last one ever eh? Thanks for heads up on this. I taken a fancy to this app over time.
     
  3. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Doubt very much it's the last one ever.
    Currently version 2.0.0.187, very nicely featured.
    Some users are experiencing a few bugs, a minority appear to be serious, most appear to be minor, (that includes me).
    Here's a sneak postview.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Thanasis159

    Thanasis159 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    I think that this is a great piece of software! My problem with it is that I takes TOO long for a full system scan and it is quite annoying... Other than that I love it!
     
  5. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    Running it now luv it !
     
  6. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Thanasis159,
    Full scan took 13min12s on my system, about 17.4G on two disks. (Which I consider to be fairly quick, also having used Asquared and SAS on demand, both take longer.)
    Fast scan only takes about 2min...
    Are you scanning "all" files, or just "infectable" files? If you choose the latter that will make a difference.Other options are to scan for "unreadable" files, and "alternate data streams". Haven't tried those scans yet, but it would probably add a little time to it.
     
  7. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Hello!

    Thanks for the heads up. New gui looks nice, they are definately heading the right direction. I think i have to give swirl on my test snapshot later.
     
  8. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Dang keyboard. Sorry for some reason some buttons aren't working.
     
  9. tmaertin

    tmaertin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    North Tonawanda, NY
    trying this app - not bad at all for a freebie. running on 2 different machines and got a false positive (listed as a critical file) on C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MRVGINA.DLL

    reported to Crawler as this is a fast user switching key for my other machines Netgear wireless card.

    i am using HIPS and the real time shield (all 10 shields up) so we will see what i can break!
     
  10. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    I have had a couple of FP's, or at least, pretty certain they are.
    You have to admit, MrVgina sounds like it could be a bit dodgy. ;)
     
  11. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    Is this first time that somebody offer ClamAV as realtime shield?
     
  12. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    According to their site, no. Another interesting note. It is supposed to be safe to run the shield (clam enabled) alongside your regular a/v (real-time enabled). I can just imagine the "over-kill" already...
     
  13. glentrino2duo

    glentrino2duo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Posts:
    310
    WinPooch is the first one, I think...

    Kinda thinking the the final came out sooner, too soon for a security app, as the beta is out just a few weeks earlier... I do like this program, though. :)
     
  14. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Is there any probs running it on limited user accounts as reported with previous versionso_O
     
  15. SirMalware

    SirMalware Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Posts:
    133
    Has anyone tested this program with some real bad malware?
     
  16. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    From what I know, this program will be even better! :)
     
  17. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Nice application. Gave it a first test and results for now as a fast scanning one. I will keep it as an on demmand scanner and will have a closer look on his performance and detection/cleaning capabilities.

    Standard 'Fast Scan' on a nearly full 15 GB partition took 5min 26 sec. So far no FP. Found one invalid startup registry.
     
  18. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I have ST for a couple of months I like it, I have been useing ST 2.0 since it came out. The only thing negitive I can say is one time it found x10net.dll a Application extention for a ATI software remote control, ST says it is Weather check [Adwear bundles] and someting else not Identified with a lable of what is supposed to be when I click "move" the only place that get highlighted is Quarantine not ignore and SuperAntiSpyware says I don't have anything. ST wont let me put the 2 things it found on the ignore list. so it looks like a FP that I will have to just have to ignore. :cautious:
     
  19. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Just to be sure, here's a shot of the "move to" and "ignore list" in action.
    (The files are (I'm pretty sure) FP's.)
    If I'm understanding you correctly, "ignore list" doesn't show on yours, or is it greyed out/otherwise not usable?
    Do you have the program in "expert" "advanced" or "beginner" mode?
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I have it set in advanced Mode, I just put my cursor over the "move" button..I don't get the normal dropdown list.. just a popup that says quarantine. The dropdown works with other files.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 4, 2007
  21. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Try clicking the "move to" button.
    Works for me.
     
  22. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Worked on the forth try.
    [edit]I had a scheduled fast scan for 8-06 at 11 am, and for some reason ST just empted the entire ignore file o_O[/edit]
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2007
  23. Tokar

    Tokar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    81
    People are getting the HashLib.dll FP a lot.

    A lot of these FP's are based of very old definitions which were recently added to the ST database.

    Just ignore them and send an False Positive report with the FP button please.

    Thanks.
     
  24. gdiloren

    gdiloren Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Posts:
    146
    Problem with Spyware Terminator is that there are too much False Positives. I got one in winlogon.exe 3 weeks ago and did the bozo thing to delete it. Had to format the whole thing up. So, investigate and use with caution. Far too much FP in this software!!
     
  25. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, folks: A lot of F.P. eh? And a lot of Emergency room visits? Then it is a masked beta application ! If I were the developer, I will do the honorable thing to recall it and send it back to drawing board, just because it needs testers to point out its fatal errors. Sad. And why it is doing these to us?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.