file scan gets "insufficient memory" message

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by enf1945, Nov 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. enf1945

    enf1945 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    btw i have plenty of memory 2 gigs . system only using 400 megs
    Windows XP

    but during file scan you get filenamexyz.exe NSIS script.nsi - error - insufficient memory

    it doesnt happen on all files.

    this was done with an on demand scan.

    thanks
     
  2. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
  3. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812

    Make sure Windows Environment variables actually are correct . They can be found in Control Panel -> System -> (System Protection)
    Capture.PNG

    In Vista and Windows 7 - if you use User Account Control - enable it and re-create the folders X:\Windows\Temp and X:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Temp

    Reboot and try again
     
  4. enf1945

    enf1945 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    I do have those two entries but i have Windows XP .

    do i have to do anything ?

    also for Path for the Temp file entry i have :

    c:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;%systemroot%\system32;%systemroot%;%systemroot%\system32\wbem;C:\Program Files\Microsoft Network Monitor 3;C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTSystem;C:\Program Files\Support Tools;C:\WINDOWS\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0
     
  5. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    In Windows XP the temp folders are:
    X:\Windows\Temp
    and X:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Local\Temp

    You may also check the Temp folders permissions

    Try deleting the folders manually and re-create them (using your own admin account).
     
  6. andw

    andw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Path to temporary folder - can this setting be changed in NOD32?
    I'm using SSD as system (Win7 x64, NOD32 v4) volume and try to minimize writes to "c:\windows\temp\" folder. Changing TEMP/TMP environment variables seems to be a solution, but I want to change only NOD32 appearance.
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    This is the only solution. I guess that the oper. system or other applications write more frequently to the temp folder.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.