File name ?? overwrite?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by radman2020, Oct 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. radman2020

    radman2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    41
    The designated file name for my backup is "Backup C Drive.tib" The file it writes is "Backup C Drive1.tib" Why does it do this. How can I make sure it overwrites the file I have there every time I have a scheduled backup?? It seems like it wants to add a number to the end of the file name and not overwrite.
     
  2. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    That's so that it can add incremental or differential backups in sequence then adding 2,3,4,etc to the file name. It's the mark of a full backup.

    If you repeat the full backup on a schedule basis with the same name, it WILL overwrite the prior full backup.

    I saw another member post that he alway's puts "Part" at the end of his image file names to avoid confusion.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. radman2020

    radman2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    41
    this was a full backup. not sure why it did that. I then erased the original so there were no files there and it still put a 1 at the end.... hmmm
     
  4. radman2020

    radman2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    41
    now it is really acting weird

    I got a message that the disk was full....even thought the recycle bin was empty and there were 55 gigabytes free. I said to retry and it did... and finished. Instead of one file like in the past, this backup resulted in 3 files..backup1, backup2, and backup3. What shakes??!?!?!


    I erased them and restarted. WE'll see what happens
     
  5. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    That's what it is designed to do and what it always does.

    It'll also sequentially number multiple parts within a single backup if it needs to.
     
  6. radman2020

    radman2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    41
    I am doing alternate backups. So, I already backed up onto one hard drive. It did it as a single file so there is no reason it shouldn't do it as a single file on this hard drive.

    second. It is making the second file after it says the disk is full and I tell it to keep going. The disk isn't near full so I don't know what the problem is...

    any thoughtso_O?
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello radman2020,

    Is the second hard drive formatted as FAT32 rather than NTFS? If so, then TI will automatically split the image into 4GB chunks.

    Strange. Please advise whether or not you are creating the image to an Acronis Secure Zone.

    Regards
     
  8. radman2020

    radman2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    41
    no it isn't a FAT and I am not using secure zone because I am using a second drive. I just got a note from Acronis saying that this is a known issue and they are working on a fix.


    thx
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello radman2020,

    Coud you pelase let me know your Acronis request # which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter to Acronis Support Team?

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  10. radman2020

    radman2020 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    41
    [Acronis #393756]

    thanks.....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.