file exclusion with the bootable rescue disc

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mithril83, Dec 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mithril83

    mithril83 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    in Win XP the source files exclusion works fine but when i use the rescue disc for backup TI ignore my file exclusions.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Just for clarification, do mean the when you start the BootCD and set exclusions, they are ignored or that the exclusions you marked in the Windows ATI are ignored? If the latter, that's normal behavior for ATI; the bootCD doesn't observe the settings of the main program that runs under Windows.
     
  3. Rogman

    Rogman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    UK
    Just noticed on my TI2009 recovery CD that the default file exclusions are there - to my surprise since they were not there with TI10 or TI11.

    I don't know whether this will work or not but...
    Try setting your default exclusions under windows and then re-create the recovery CD.
    It might work or it might simply be that TI2009 has these settings anyway!

    Rog
     
  4. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Rog,
    What you are suggesting does not work, I’ve tried it. Creating an image from a newly created Rescue Media CD or from a CD created from the .ISO file still excludes the files by default. Apparantly the Linux Recovery Manager on the Rescue Media CD wasn't updated in build 9646 to fix this.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2008
  5. mithril83

    mithril83 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    @shieber

    the first one, when i set the exclusions in the rescue disc environment and then ATI ignored the settings.
     
  6. mithril83

    mithril83 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    No Ideas?
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    What version and build of TI are you using?

    What type of exclusions are you using (what are you entering)?

    If you proceed to the final page of the backup wizard and then return to the exclusions page, are your entries still there or has TI removed/changed them?
     
  8. mithril83

    mithril83 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I'm using ATI Home 2009 build 9649

    exclusions like this: C:\Folder\

    When i switch to the summary tab and then back to the exclusion tab my exculsions are still there but it don't works.

    In win there are no problems at all ;)
     
  9. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    The CD program is a diff one than the windows one so it's not a surprise that they might behave diff. However, this sounds like a definite bug in the CD version.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    mithril83, please let us investigate an issue and do the following:

    Please create Acronis Report, sysinfo.txt system information file from CD and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. To expedite the resolution we recommend you to use our Live Chat service after that. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Probably this issue can be fixed by special ISO files we have, so this is first option we will suggest to you in live chat.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.