Fedora 15 released

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by mack_guy911, May 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
  2. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    Ha, I wanted to reprt this today, mate!

    Glad you could handle it though wink

    Please, guys, share your experience both in real-time working environment and in virtual one,

    1] Fedora is known as the one to be avoided on Day 1 of its release, is this one still the case? Buggy as heck?
     
  3. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Torrenting will install on old lappy to try it out.
     
  4. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    Also downloading as we speak,
    this is gonna be the 1st distro I'ma have a go at since the release of Mint 10,

    in the meantime, anticipating Mint 11 :D
     
  5. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    i tried mint 11 pretty much impressed great distro with gnome 2.32 and pretty fast

    as for fedora i am downloading fedora kde as its already kde 4.6

    gnome may be later last time i tried gnome 3 on open suse pretty bad experience :doubt:
     
  6. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    just downloaded and running live session in virtualbox

    1st impression awesome fast i downloaded 32bit instead of 64 bit but its pretty fast not bad by default it has koffice which i think is bad move

    there are many great tool installed by default

    like

    krusuder file manager with root mode

    filelite another interesting tool to see your disk size

    one more awesome tool called system cleaner which cleans your

    cookies history web cache .....etc

    and

    recent documents, recent application use history,run command history,thumb nales cache clip boards..........etc

    there is new tool called personal alarm for massage email command ...etc scheduler

    there is new tool called nepomuk backup and nepomuk file indexing controller and looks interesting wonder what it does

    burner k3b and dragon player

    there is new tool called floppy formatter to formate floppy dos ext2.....etc

    one thing i like to say that they have best kde fonts i ever seen the only thing that give me pain in kde base distro and other distros is their fonts

    shutdown another awesome move just click and it shutdown pretty fast wow

    one bad thing sorry didnt mention it no firefox or chrome :D


    kde default browser LOL
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2011
  7. Beavenburt

    Beavenburt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    566
    So far i'm pleasantly surprised by gnome fallback. Coupled with gnome-tweak-tool, infinality fonts and gconf-editor one can achieve quite a good working desktop thats also fast and attractive. Suspend and hibernate work flawlessly and my ageing printer/scanner combo is auto-recognised. I must say i'm quite impressed at the moment. Deffo going to keep playing.
     
  8. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    WOW that torrent took about 1.30 to 2 hours to download. 0_o
     
  9. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Floppy formatter? How many people use floppy disks these days?
     
  10. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    i took me 3.5 hours to download tomorrow i going to try gnome maybe :D


    so far good some bad like no firefox default also some problem with gpg key error with packagekit
     
  11. Beavenburt

    Beavenburt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    566
    I've got a tip for creating panel launchers. Install gnome-tweak-tool and set nautilus to manage the desktop and you can drag an item from the desktop to the panel. Not great but it works. Here's a screeny of my work in progress.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Updating my LXDE spin. Only a 492MB download.
     
  13. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    Fedora-15-i686-Live-Desktop.iso

    observations:

    1] Gnome 3 only in fallback mode in VB
    2] For the first time ever I was required to maximize the amount of alloted RAM from 512 to 640 in order to make install happen
     
  14. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    I need/want to build the Broadcom STA drivers for my wireless card (BCM43325). Does anyone know what packages I need beforehand in order to build it? Thanks.
     
  15. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,441
    When are the retards at GNOME ever going to compile a GNOME Shell for their 2D mode?
     
  16. Beavenburt

    Beavenburt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    566
    I didn't experience the slow speeds in downloading as others. It took about 15 minutes for a direct download. Also it's a small iso at 565mb.
     
  17. AdamL

    AdamL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    France/Fife
    Oh no, really? :rolleyes:

    It is not what you say but how you say it!
     
  18. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677

    my internet speed is 384 k so every things pretty fast for me i get full speed all the time :D


    hahaha

    sorry bro next time i tie my hands before i just with excitement of release

    agree

    agree :)
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2011
  19. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    hehe

    ok updated my favourite VB 3.12 to 4.08, updated the guest additions...still no luck with Gnome 3 although some claim it is supposed to work in this environment

    edit//turns out there are already 82 updates available..perhaps I should just install them, perhaps
     
  20. noons

    noons Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    115
    How did you theme your windows? I thought gnome3 didnt support themes yeto_O!
     
  21. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    What version of Firefox is Fedora 15 using (3.6.17 or 4.0.*)? I've downloaded but haven't tried it yet. Mack_Guy?

    Thanks.

    Later...
     
  22. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    It's 4.01, checked!
     
  23. Beavenburt

    Beavenburt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    566
    Encase you didn't notice my earlier post I'm using fallback mode not the shell.
    Grab a gtk3 theme from www.gnome-look.org and unpack it to /home/yourusername/.themes
    and then use gnome-tweak-tool to change the metacity and gtk theme.
     
  24. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    lol io thought i posted but it save on my txt file

    sorry for delay

    thanks for korbin to be fast this time

    it got firefox 4.01 latest

    i didnt test gnome 3 maybe later also for kde fans i say give it little time to mature its not rocksolid stable on live on installation may be different story i see theme error on live same i face with open suse but after install and updated in virtual box its work as yummy

    one thing i miss in fedora kde is yast rest is not bad

    if i have to rate on bases of live cd i give it 7.5 out of 10 same as suse on live cd experience

    and

    suse after install i give 9.5 out of 10

    because of yast and kde default base
     
  25. adam993

    adam993 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Poland
    Well, I'm using Fedora 15 with full GNOME Shell for 3 days and I'm pleased. I don't have any problems: wireless works, touchpad too :), software is stable, but I can't connect with Empathy to Gadu Gadu network (IM in Poland).
    I'm impressed with GNOME 3. Windows management is comfortable, I've a clean desktop for 1, 2, 3 hours with Shell :). Developers made very usable environment (in my opinion).
    :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.