FDISR/Win 8.1

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by WWS, Jan 3, 2015.

  1. WWS

    WWS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    249
    Has anyone successfully installed FDISR (not Raxco IR) in Win 8.1?
     
  2. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    As you probably know, Raxco IR is FDISR with an update so to speak. I think if you are presently using FDISR you can get IR at a discount. I got a 20% discount just because I hesitated too long when I was purchasing it. All of a sudden a window came up saying don't go, we'll give you 20% off, in so many ways. I can't comment on WIN 8 though because I'm using WIN 7.
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    I agree, Raxco IR is made to install, FDISR you have to do the fudges. Not worth it in my opinion.
     
  4. WWS

    WWS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    249
    I have been using Raxco IR for a year now this month.
    For over 9 years prior I had been using FDISR.
    I thought maybe if someone had put FDISR into Win 8.1 that I would
    install my old FDISR on my new laptop. I didn't throw it away.
    But then there's that hacking/fudging thing.
    You're right, just buy a new one.

    Thanks for the replies.
     
  5. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    FDISR will work; if you flip the boot sector there is a thread here..... I used it until about 9 months when I switched to Instant recovery.
     
  6. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    "Fudging" with FDISR to get it to work in Win 8.1 may work, I don't know. I know that I "fudged" FDISR in Win 7, twice, to get it to work and it did. But, Raxco made other changes, mostly security I believe, to the new InstantRecovery. Why mess with a 10-year old product when you can have an up-to-date one that is good-to-go on a modern computer.

    Acadia
     
  7. charincol

    charincol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    113
    I just discovered IR last month and bought it after using FDISR for the last few years without issues.

    FDISR works perfect with Win 8(.1) once you switch out the boot sector either manually or using pandlouk's bootsect executables. I don't understand why so many have concocted in their mind that double-clicking an executable one time = "that hacking/fudging thing". You're using a legitimate tool provided by Microsoft that they have painstakingly ensured will work with with XP/Vista/Win7/Win8(.1) if you manually quad-booted all 4 different OS's in separate partitions. It's not hacking a damn thing if it's being used as it was intended by the creators (Microsoft).

    I could have easily kept using FDISR without issue or problems but wanted to continue supporting the best %&$#@*! piece of software technology ever made.
     
  8. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Raxco made AT LEAST one security improvement in the new IR and I have verified it. Yes, you can get the old and new to work in Win 7 or Win 8, but IR is more secure.
    Acadia
     
  9. charincol

    charincol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    113
    That's probably a good thing for most - I don't even use an AV to begin with as I use a non-traditional security setup.
     
  10. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Well, the one security problem that I am familiar with had to do with a "leakage" between the Primary and Secondary Snapshots. First, you must understand, this was WITHOUT Data Anchoring being implemented at all. If I made a change in a Notepad text document, it was immediately reflected in my Secondary and again I must repeat, this was WITHOUT Data Anchoring, somehow my change in a Notepad document was reflected in both places.

    But with IR that has been fixed. I now make a change in Primary, no longer reflected in Secondary; except that I am NOW using Data Anchoring so it is reflected. :confused:
    I have no idea of the security issues that bug might have posed, I only saw it among Documents, don't know how "deeper" it went. After several years between FD and IR, I must wonder how many other security issues Raxco might have fixed.
    Acadia
     
  11. charincol

    charincol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    113
    I don't use the default favorites folders. All my "documents" are kept on a separate drive. Been doing it since Win 2000.
     
  12. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    :thumb:
    Acadia