FDISR and an AV

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by benton4, Feb 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. benton4

    benton4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    158
    Location:
    Oregon
    Just fyi, Viruscape 2006 only scans the the snapshot currently in use, and rather quickly. By the way, FDISR has got to be the best program I've ever purchased. Thanks for such a good product.
     
  2. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    All AV's I have tried ( about 10 in all ) do not scan the multiple snapshots. At the present time only NOD seems to scan more than the 1 current snapshot.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I am useing NIS 2005 and it seems to scan everything on the Hdd including all snapshots, the scan time gets longer everytime I add a snapshot.
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Neither of the KAV's I've used scan all the snapshots. KAV 5.0 doesn't, and neither did the beta's of KAV 6.0

    Pete
     
  5. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Since FD creates a hidden folder called $ISR on the C drive, a possible workaround is as follows.

    You could deselect the C: drive, and then add in each of the folders on the C: drive (except of course the
    $ISR one).

    A bit time-consuming I admit, but you would only need to do it once as you can then save these settings for subsequent scans.

    At the present time I am only using 2 snapshots and the "extended" NOD scan is still a lot faster than most of my other AV's which only scan the 1 snapshot.
     
  6. dallen

    dallen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Posts:
    824
    Location:
    United States
    Blackcat,
    Would your proposed method not leave you vulnerable to anything that decided to create a new folder directly on the c: drive, assuming that that malicious program was encountered after your initial scan? The reason I ask is that if you ran your initial scan and saved the settings which include the files and folders that you had previously selected, then any new folders that were created would not be scanned since they were not included in your previously selected list.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.