FD-ISR Rescue Server, Archive feature included?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Tony, Jun 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    721
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
  2. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2008
  3. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    New FirstDefense Server Rescue v3.1.215

    its orginaly post first by TONY under no match topic to my opnion.

    its new buid(5/28/200:cool: which cost 295$

    Windows Server 2008, Windows Vista, Windows Server 2003, Windows XP or Windows 2000

    Memory (RAM): 128 MB minimum (256 MB recommended).

    Available Hard Disk Space: 5 MB for Program; 5-9 GB for Rescue Area.

    NTFS file sys


    http://www.horizondatasys.com/305029.ihtml

    you can check this out in this url... gona install and report


    * ITS DOES SUPPORT ARCHIVE. I IMPORT MY "OLD" ARX FROM BUILD 215 WORK NP !

    * 2 snapshot allow 1 is active the other they call it "rescue area"
    wounder what ERIK gona say on this hehe ...:D

    chers:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2008
  4. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    721
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Look forward to hearing your thoughts on it.
     
  5. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    yes it does mate.... i open a new poll for this new ver coz i think it an improved ver maybe...i am sure the fdsir guru will check this out soon ;)
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    721
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Thanks Demoneye :)
    So i would then assume that there will be an updated version of FD-ISR Rescue for home users coming shortly with the Archive option built into the program.
     
  7. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Ooooo, I don't know about that, Tony, I hope that you're right, but ...

    Acadia
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    There might be a minor update for current users, but I don't think it will be sold outright.

    I couldn't tell how many snapshots it would do. Sounds like only two.

    The pricing makes a lot of sense. Aims it at enterprise, where there is a) more revenue, and b) lots less support.

    Pete
     
  9. alloucho

    alloucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    145
    You´re right, only two snapshots are supported: the ORIGINAL and the RESCUE AREA one.:thumbd:
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Thats all the enterprise market would need. Actually thats the way I run it now.
     
  11. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Freeze/Unfreeze/Freeze Previous seem to be missing. I couldn't find schedules either to have at least an automatic restore during reboot as a replacement of the Freeze function.
    A FDISR Rescue Server of $300 that offers less than a FDISR Workstation of $70. :rolleyes:
     
  12. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    half correct... the FDISR SERVER support Windows Server 2008, Vista
    Windows Server 2003 and FDISR only top vista

    this release is for the enterprise market like pete mention , and sys admin who runs server , 300$ isnt much in maintence servers

    chers
     
  13. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Doesn't make any difference to me, as a system administrator I would like to have such feature also.
     
  14. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    i said u half correct coz for the price of 295$ u should get the freez option , but for apps run on server prices are always high , doesn't matter the ability of the application in your / our eyes...in this isue making fdisr RESCUE server compatible make the price so high and unreasonable for us , home users

    chers
     
  15. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    The functionality of FDISR Rescue Server is going down, while the price is going up.
    That doesn't happen often to softwares and certainly not to an excellent software like FDISR.
    As I always say : money is real quality-killer.
     
  16. pratzert

    pratzert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Sorry.. but I'm STILL confused.

    Is this new FD-ISR Server Rescue just released the same as the "OLD" FD-ISR that everyone seems to love?

    Or is it a slimmed down version of the original ?

    And are there any other differences in the FD-ISR "Rescue" and the original other than only having two snapshots with the rescue ?

    Thanks, Tim
     
  17. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    FDISR PC Rescue = 2 snapshots, no archives, no freeze, no schedules

    FDISR PC Rescue Server = 2 snapshots and archives, no freeze, no schedules

    The real FDISR has everything : 10 snapshots, unlimited archives, freeze/unfreeze/freeze previous, import/export, empty snapshot, schedules.

    A good FDISR PC Rescue would have been :
    2 snapshots, unlimited archives, freeze/unfreeze/freeze previous.
    Schedules aren't really necessary, if I can have 2 frozen snapshots.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.