FD-ISR on an Existing System

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by phasechange, Jul 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. phasechange

    phasechange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Hi!

    How long do you estimate it will take me to make a snapshot/secondary of my boot disk which has 80Gb of programs+OS on it?

    Are the images compressed?

    I have a feeling I wont like the answer!

    Fairy
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Every system is different in speed, test it yourself.
    FDISR has an evaluation version and you don't need to be a genius to copy/paste the primary snapshot (created during the installation) to a second snapshot and watch your clock, while it's happening.

    Time also the backup and restore of your image backup software.
     
  3. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    100 GB partition with about 23 GB of windows + progs takes around an hour on my sys.

    Snapshots are not compressed in current release but next - archives can be compressed
     
  4. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,635
    Location:
    UK
    The first snapshot will take longer than most, anywhere from 50 mins to over an hour depending on HD space. Updating that snapshot takes much less time, anywhere from 2 mins to 6 mins.

    In the current version, snapshots are not compressed (except archives, but you can't boot into them), but the next build will have that functionality.
     
  5. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Does that 80 GB file system also contain data? It is possible to exclude data from copying, while it will be available in all snapshots.
    (for example downloaded files)
    That could significantly reduce the time and space it takes to copy/update a snapshot.
    It's called data anchoring.
     
  6. phasechange

    phasechange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    unfortunately not... well I suppose the games include maps and models etc.

    Estime was 3hrs+ (and that's on a RaptorX). I've build a test partition might do it instead as it's a clean install.

    Fairy
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    And should be same amount of time to recover the snapshot?
     
  8. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    switching between snapshot takes seconds I have seven. Reboot choose snapshot switch reboot - 30 seconds ish


    - importing from an archive is a bit quicker than TI would take to restore an image
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks.
    so at least here it is as fast as RollBackRx.
     
  10. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    I have 2 lics for FD ISR and 2 lics for Rollback. For me RB has only one advantage speed of taking snapshots - I created a snapshot every boot. But on my systems it is not 100% reliable and the snapshots are not persistent. I now only use it on one multiboot system - because FD will not work on this system.


    FD uses more space, snapshots take longer to create. But it is very reliable with persistent snapshots.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.