FD-ISR & Diskeeper 2008 Pro Premier

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Rilla927, May 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Hi gang,

    I was wondering if folks that use DK & FD together stop the diskeeper service before they do a copy/update. I'm not sure if it would mess things up.

    Thanks
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Any form of copy/update in FDISR can have errors, while a defragger is running, either manually or automatically. I've done defragmentation in the past during copy/update and I got errors, not always but more than enough (those were torture tests).
    Turn any automatic defragmentation OFF, even during reboot.
    The only SAFE defragmentation in FDISR is a manual one while FDISR is doing nothing. It's also very logical, if you think longer about it. You don't add, delete and replace objects automatically, while a defragmentation is running.

    P.S.: Other forms of copy/update are Import Snapshot, Export Snapshot and Freeze, they all do the same as copy/update.
    If you use FDISR as a boot-to-restore solution (frozen snapshot), defragmentation during reboot must be avoided.
    Also Freeze Previous is working during reboot.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2008
  3. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    erik right... NEVER defrag while in copy / update situation.

    <snip>
    cheers:thumb:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.