FD-ISR Boot Sector issue

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by samy, Jan 28, 2015.

  1. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    On my computer I am running for years with no problem, 4 snapshots (Two XP and Two Win7x32). I decided to install a new one running Win7x64 and after the installation to remove one of the Win7x32.
    I opened an empty snapshot and installed the win7x64 program, ran the bootsecx64 from above thread.
    When trying to run FD-ISR program, I've got a message:
    "the Boot sector for the Windows systems volume is an unknown type"
    and FD-ISR installation stopped.

    What goes wrong during the installation?

    thanks
     
  2. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Why don't you install Raxco Instant Recovery, which is basically a FDISR improved update. I think you can get a discount if your a FDISR user.
     
  3. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,565
    Probably, nothing went wrong. Sometimes in Windows 7 and later a partition bootsector change (or even a file change) is not reflected immediately in the OS, sometimes it could take 30 seconds or more for the OS to become aware of the change (I do not know why it's happening and is more frequent with 64bit); if you run again the FD-ISR setup it should proceed with the installation just fine.

    Panagiotis
     
  4. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    Hi Pandlouk
    I tried twice to install it with no success. the same problem: FD stopped in the middle of the installation. I will try again tomorrow.
    Are the bootsect in your tutorial above still "valid", since the pictures have been removed.

    Hi twl845
    1. I am using FD on my old PC for years
    2. I checked on Rasco site and they are not showing the product price. It is mentioned to contact them by mail in order to get the price?
    3. how to obtain a discount? To send them the FD program or just to inform them/
    4. Do you know if using InstantRecovery a mix of Win7x32, Win7x64 and Win8x64 is possible?

    thanks
     
  5. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    4. Do you know if using InstantRecovery a mix of Win7x32, Win7x64 and Win8x64 is possible?

    FDISR and IR both work for me
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,565
    Yes, the bootsect files seem unmodified.
    Can you post a screenshot of your disk management?

    -2. Do not go to the business page of raxco. Go to the consumer page and buy it from there (69.99$).
    -3. I do not know if that discount is still valid.-If not... a discount of 20% should be offered directly if you select buy remain on that store page, and open another tab in your browser and navigate to another site. When you go back to the store tab there should have apperead a 20% discount popup.
    -4. Yes

    Panagiotis
     
  7. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    Hi Pandlouk

    I performed another attempt trying to install WIN7 on an empty snapshot. Same issue.
    Attached is my disc management.
    The "20% discount" is working. I will use it when getting a new PC and leaving FD on the old one.

    Samy
     

    Attached Files:

  8. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,565
    Hi Samy,

    your partition layout is ok. I do not understand why the selfexecutable "bootsect_x64.exe" does not work; UAC prompts you to elevate to admin (as it should) when you run it? If not run it as admin.
    If even then does not work, extract with winrar the file "bootsect.exe" open "cmd" as admin, go to the directory where you extracted it and run the following command
    bootsect.exe /nt60 sys

    Panagiotis
     
  9. Tronix74

    Tronix74 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    I tried the Raxco product and my impression is that it will only take a snapshot of the primary drive (C:) and store only up to 10 snapshots. I thought that FD-ISR could snapshot multiple drives (much like Rx Rollback).
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    No. And 10 snapshots on disk would be huge. You can make multiple archives. FD-ISR (now IR) is nothing at all like Rx Rollback.