FD-ISR and Windows 7

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by pandlouk, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. Karen76

    Karen76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Posts:
    124
    Pandlouk, I am extremely grateful to you for your hard work in devising and articulating the procedures above so that even I could follow them. I now have FD-ISR successfully installed on my Windows 7 64-bit PC and it is such a relief. None of the backup imaging programs I've tried (True Image, Paragon, Macrium Reflect) have been 100% reliable on my newest PC. Thanks to you and my beloved FD-ISR, I can compute with confidence again. :)

    The Bootsec_x64 file confounded me at first since I'd never dealt with a file which had double extensions. Once I researched how to reveal the second "hidden" extension so I could delete "txt", it was a snap to install FD-ISR.

    My only problem now is I haven't been able to delete the 101 MB of unallocated space which formerly held the Win 7 System Reserved. I made a backup image as you advised (using True Image Home 2010) but didn't see any obvious way to remove the 101 MB when I restored the image. I installed Partition Wizard and used it to expand the size of my C partition until it filled the unallocated 101 MB. After rebooting, however, the program gave an error message saying there had been some registry-related problem then check disk ran. After my PC restarted, Disk Management confirmed the 101 MB space had been incorporated into the C partition but, inexplicably, my D partition (which contains the HP system recovery files) was now untitled and listed as a "generic volume." I restored my PC using a backup image made just prior to installing Partition Wizard. I hope there's no problem with having this 101 MB unallocated space remaining on my primary hard drive.

    Finally, I wish there was some method where folks with a valid FD-ISR license who follow pandlouk's procedures and install FD-ISR on a Windows 7 PC could purchase a second license key from Leapfrog so they wouldn't have to uninstall FD-ISR from another PC in order to be in compliance with the licensing agreement.
     
  2. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    pandlouk nice tut
     
  3. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,699
    Hi karen,

    you are welcome.

    There is absolutly no problem leaving those 101mb of unallocated space.
    Now on how to recover them.

    1st method. Use a bootable media of paragon partition manager. For such operations ALWAYS do it from external media.
    - ps. Paragon is the only partition manager that I trust for moving partitions around; have not tried Terrabyte's Bing though.

    2nd method (and safer). From a removable media delete the OS partition (acronis restore cd should be able to do it). Now you will have a free/unallocated space of 101mb+the size of the deleted partition.
    Now with your favorite image app (acronis in our case) restore the image to the unallocated space and enable the feature to use all the free space available. Pay attention to not restore the mbr.
    Some image apps (like drivesnapshot) do not allow you to restore in unallocated space. I do not remember if acronis has this problem too but if it does the way to circumvent it, is to create a new partition on the free space and then point the restoration to that partition.

    Remember to make the partition active after/during the restoration and to perform check disk of the partition after rebooting.

    ps. I hope that Partition wizard has not made your partitions to overlap each other. If you have a complete image of the whole disk I would advise you to restore that one and repeat the procedure.

    Panagiotis
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2010
  4. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,699
    Thanks :D

    Panagiotis
     
  5. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    Pandlouk

    1. thanks for your prompt answer and your clarifications.

    2.
    My HD has three partitions (NTFS). One partition (C) includes the OS. But as I can see (from Disk management) on all the partitions graphics representations I have the same 'dark blue' strip the same one as on the picture in post #3, meaning all three are primary ones.
    As I understood from the quote above I have to hide the two other partitions so that Win7 will load the boot file into C.
    I have Acronis Disc Director, and it has a 'Hide' option, but I have never used it.
    How to cancel this 'hide' process after Win7 installation?

    thanks
     
  6. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,699
    The exact same way that you used to hide it. Instead of "hide" you will see "unhide" when a partition is already hidden.

    Panagiotis
     
  7. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    You're awesome, pandlouk!
    This will be my reference for when I "have" to make the move out of XP!
    Thanks for doing this for us.:cool:
     
  8. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Ok I follwed the instructions set out in this thread to the letter, everything installed and seemed fine untill.....:blink: this error popped up

    * the copy engine unexpectedly terminated FD-ISR will now close*

    and as it stated nothing was copied. Is this because I have windows 7 x64 or is this some other otherworldly reason :cautious: I did wonder however if everything was going to work,as over 50000 directories were searched before it attempted to copy.
     
  9. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,699
    You are welcome crofttk. :)
    Perform a disk check and a defrag and retry.

    Panagiotis
     
  10. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes

    I did, you wouldnt believe the thrashing I gave the defragmenter, Absolute 0% fragmented on system files or page file
     
  11. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,699
    - You have disabled windows system restore, right?

    - What defragmenter do you use? FD-ISR is incompatible with Diskeeper 2010.

    Panagiotis
     
  12. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    A: Yes
    B: PerfectDisk 11
     
  13. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,699
    Strange. I have seen this problem once but after I defraged and run again the update procedure it was fine.

    Panagiotis
     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    Interesting. I've done several installs of Win 7 and win 7 x64. I am using full downloads from the Microsoft site, that are licensed.

    I've just done a format, and then install, nothing else. Then I ran the files in the first post and FDISR installed fine.

    No 100mb partitions. I wonder if these are related to OEM versions put on my manufacters, or the OEM versions in general.

    Pete
     
  15. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,077
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    I know that the Ultimate version of Win7 creates a hidden partition for the encryption feature but I don't know how big it is.

    Acadia
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    I didn't try Ultimate. To much bloat with noting extra I wanted.
     
  17. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    http://www.mydigitallife.info/2009/...reserved-partition-when-installing-windows-7/


    Here is a way to avoid 100mb partition if there is already an existing Windows installation: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/7943-install-windows-7-fast-without-dvd-usb-device.html

    With a little correction:
    So the boot files will be copied into the new partition rather than editing BCD menu of the existing one.
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    Light bulb moment. So using WIn 7 Professional, I avoided the 100mb mess. Cool.
     
  19. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes

    How come? when I install Professional it still makes the 100 Mb partition, as do all other versions. I must be jinxed or possessed :shifty:
     
  20. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,077
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Ok, then that means that the 100Mb partition must have nothing to do with Ultimate's encryption feature. Does that mean that the Ultimate edition creates two hidden partitions?

    Acadia

    EDIT: Just Googled and discovered that the 100-200mb (it varies in size) hidden partition contains files for the Recovery Environment and booting. It appears, from looking very quickly, that all versions of Win7 have it.
     
  21. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes

    Exactly :cautious: kinda sneaky :ninja:
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    DVD+R

    Is it an OEM version. The version I have is what I downloaded from MS as a partner.

    All I did was boot the DVD, select the disk to install in, format, and the continue.
     
  23. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,046

    Partition the disk before running the installer and it will not create the 100mb partition
     
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    I didn't partition, but I did do a format each time.
     
  25. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    I'll try the way I did just last night, partition/delete/extend/format..heres hoping :ninja: