FAT32 to NTFS

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Earthling, May 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    I want to convert a populated FAT32 partition to NTFS, but DD's Convert only offers FAT16. As I can even do this from XP's command line I'm a bit puzzled as to why I can't do it in DD.

    Or am I missing something obvious?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
  3. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Bernard:

    If your FAT32 partition is data only (no OS involved) then you may find it easier to just copy the data off temporarily, reformat the partition as NTFS, then copy the data back.
     
  4. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks both. I simply did it from the command line with convert E: /fs:ntfs. DD is such a great program - well compared with PM8 anyway - I just couldn't believe it couldn't do it.
     
  5. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Did you check the cluster size after conversion? You probably won't want 512 byte clusters. 4 kB or larger will be more efficient.
     
  6. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    I read the other thread after I'd done the conversion, so yes I will take a look at that.

    EDIT - It's already 4KB after the conversion
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.