FarStone RestoreIT 2014

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by DVD+R, Dec 5, 2014.

  1. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    I'm trying this thing out, as Rollback rx just blew up, and on rebooting My PC The your computer needs to be repaired screen came up, and basically I had to do an image restore from an external drive. So anyway, on looking at Farstone's website, apparently this thing has a Hotkey restore on boot up ? but I'm damned if I can find which key> or even If it's actually working right>? on Windows 8.1
     
  2. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    RestoreIT creates very large buffer files at the root of your C: drive. If you also use an imaging program to do differentials or incrementals, the resulting image will always be big and take a while because of those buffer files.
     
  3. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    341
    Most imaging software lets you exclude files by their extension, so it is possible to exclude the RestoreIt buffer files from the backup.

    Cheers
    manolito
     
  4. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    It remains to be tested when, upon a restore, this will break RestoreIT's boot console and therefore render your system unbootable.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    They do? Please name a couple. I know Shadowprotect,Macrium and IFW don't.
     
  6. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    341
    Acronis True Image and Paragon Backup & Recovery Free sure do...

    @ MarcP
    The RestoreIT boot console is integrated into the BCD store, the MBR is not altered. Any imaging software can backup and restore this.


    Cheers
    manolito
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    So let me be sure I understand. I can take an image(as opposed to file and folder backup) exclude a folder, so then if I do an image restore, that folder will be gone?
     
  8. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    341
    No, you cannot exclude folders, but you can specify file extensions for excluding. All files with these extensions will not be backed up in an image based backup (I am not talking about a files and folders based backup). The RestoreIT buffer files all have the same extension, so it is easy to exclude them. Of course this means that after restoring from such a backup all RestoreIT snapshots will be gone.

    Cheers
    manolito
     
  9. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Ooooo, not sure that I like that. A mirror image should be exactly that, an exact mirror. The only change that I accept is excluding empty space. If you restore an image missing certain things you could have a real mess on your hands, for example, other programs depending upon those excluded thingies.
    Acadia
     
  10. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    341
    So you also think that the swap file and the hibernation file should never be excluded from an image backup? If a user decides to exclude files by their extension, it certainly helps if he knows what he is doing. But I really cannot see why I should not exclude files with extensions like .bak, .tmp, .~ from my image backups.


    Cheers
    manolito
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    Apps like Macrium and Shadowprotect include place holders for the swap file, and I suspect the hibernation file. But the aren't actually in the image. As to the others, clean up first and then image.
     
  12. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Sorry about that, always learning ... Acadia