Faronics Anti-Executable Standard 5 is live with granular publisher control

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by faronics, Apr 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. faronics

    faronics Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Posts:
    7
    Faronics Anti-Executable Standard 5 is now available .

    The main new feature of the Standard edition is a more granular control of Publishers.

    Publishers can now be controlled on four different levels: Certificate, Product Name, Program File and File Version.

    You can grab a fully functional 30 day trial from here.

    Read detailed release notes here.
     
  2. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    THanks faronics. Sounds like a great update. Looking forward to testing it out.
     
  3. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Still getting 4.21 of Faronics Anti-Executable Standard, not v5.
     
  4. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    cheers for update
     
  5. kakaka

    kakaka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Posts:
    46
    Anti-Executable Enterprise
    Posted: Tue, 2 Apr 2012 14:05:00 PST
    5.0.2100.515
    Anti-Executable Server Enterprise
    Posted: Tue, 2 Apr 2012 14:05:00 PST
    5.0.2100.515
    Anti-Executable Server Standard
    Posted: Tue, 2 Apr 2012 14:05:00 PST
    5.0.1121.515
    Anti-Executable Standard
    Posted: Tue, 2 Apr 2012 14:05:00 PST
    5.0.1112.515
     
  6. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Just downloaded again, big difference in size 12mb vs 40mb, seams the new version is available for download now.
    Will try this one soon.
     
  7. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I take it you're part of Faronics. Do you folks have plans to provide localized versions of AE/other apps? I don't think if you folks have?

    Thanks
     
  8. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I'll test it later. I wonder whether they fixed AE loooong incompatibility with Vista systems. When AE works properly it is really impenetrable, with very little system resources.
     
  9. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Always thought that Faronics was too expensive, particularly as it is an annual license ($35).

    Other AEs are more easy on the wallet;

    VoodooShield-$20/year (on their website). I am running the "free" version at present.

    But better still; NoVirusThanks EXE Radar Pro-a one off license fee for $20. Free version also available.
     
  10. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Unless their business model has changed, what it means is that for 1 year one receives free upgrades, there are no signatures to update, a sort of maintenance period. After 1 year the application will continue working normally, but one won't be able to upgrade free. Upgrades are not necessary really, unless there is a big change like a new OS.
     
  11. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    I was interested in this at one time, and I seen a few comments that it makes it hard to install any software on your system; is this true?
     
  12. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    With the old versions one had to disable it to install anything new. With the new versions a window asks you whether you want to block or add the new install to the white list. Obviously if you are not installing anything and the window appears, chances are that it is malware or something unauthorized.

    Very effective and light, the only problem was that it worked perfectly with XP, but was very buggy with Vista.
     
  13. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    I've always like the idea if this product but when I've installed the trials it slows everything to a crawl. The memory/CPU/Disc activity etc seem reasonable but performance was poor.

    Was I the only one? If not any improvements in this version? If I was to use it it would be on Win7 x 64.

    Thanks
     
  14. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    running very well here and light as a feather on a netbook win 7 32 bit.
     
  15. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Excellent, might give it a go then. It might have been Vista the last time I tried and from what I can see there were issues.

    A quick question, what extra are you getting from AppGuard? I had been thinking one or the other.

    Thanks
     
  16. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    The last time I tried the previous version was on windows 7 and it slowed to a crawl and was on a laptop with more ram and process power.So far this is not the case with version 5, at least on my end.:thumb:
     
  17. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    As far as AppGuard IMO its overlap and dont see any extra.However not sure if I am going to purchase AE, so I will keep Appguard on.

    One thing about Appguard in lockdown that it just denys excutables,but with AE its allow or deny on execution users choice. AppGuard force's the user to lower its protewction to install or execute anything new.Goof proof if you will.
     
  18. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i will prefer AppGuard all the way:thumb: :thumb:
     
  19. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    As good a reason as any, thanks.
    I'd imagine it I'll be the same but will give AE a go.

    Cheers
     
  20. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I gave Faronics Anti-Exectables a try twice in last 2 years, but it did not work well with my system. My system hung, and would not even boot. Even after using its white list I still had the same problem. Once after I was finally able to get my system up, and running with AE it blocked applications even after i created rules to allow them. I would give it another try, but i'm more than happy with Appguard at the moment.
     
  21. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Good decision. I've been struggling with it all night. Waste of time for me I'm afraid as I got what I've always got when I tried AE - System lock-ups, unresponsive GUI and snails pace drag on basic system tasks. AppGuard as you'll know simply flies in comparison.

    Cheers
     
  22. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I will point out for users that never tried AE after installation you will not see it in the add or remove or all programs,but only in the task.To open its Gui you must hold shift key and double click the tray icon.To uninstall it use rhe same MSI in documents.Deep Freeze also works the same way.The first time I tried deep freeze I freeked out a bit when I did not see it or couldn't open its gui,I guess its always good to read docs before hand.:blink:
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2012
  23. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    AppGuard Rocks,But AE is rocking on my little netbook dual core Atom with 2 gigs ram with Appguard and MBAM real time.Sorry you had troubles though.
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    that's good dave AppGuard Rocks;) :thumb: :thumb:
     
  25. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    It seems to me that anti-executable technology overall is horribly underestimated. In my unprofessional testing AE, AG, and Exe radar all compliment very well with a low resource traditional antivirus.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.