FanJ please---IE6, SP1 encryption plus

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by Pretender, Dec 4, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pretender

    Pretender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Virtual Paradise
    I chose this board due to this being a security update and encryption issue with the subject.

    I'm having a lot of problems with the Windows Update Site and, it appears, many others are also. Could you please answer the following:

    When I go to "Help" in the menu bar and "About internet explorer" it shows under "Cipher Strength" that I have "128-bit"? Is this correct? The reason I ask is that when I go to download windows updates manually.......I am given a choice between choosing IE6, SP1 32-bit or IE6, SP1 64-bit download files. If this is not what the 128-bit is refering to than how do I find out if I have 32 or 64-bit?

    Secondly, if I go to "Help", "About Internet Explorer" after installing the "Q328970" critical update.....should "Q328970" show after "SP1" if, in fact, it was really a successful install?

    I really appreciate your input.

    Bob
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,015
    I hope it's not a problem if I post a short answer to some of your questions. :)

    The 128-bit you see refers to the strength of the encryption that your IE version supports. Currently, 128-bit is the max (and thus, you should be fine with this).

    If given a choice, you should choose 32-bit (64-bit chips are not yet readily available for mainstream use - the one main 64-bit chip available, the Intel Itanium2, is rather expensive, and you would usually NOT find one in a normal desktop machine).

    To answer your third question: yes, it should show the number after the "SP1" in your about screen.

    Hope this helps. :)

    -Javacool
     
  3. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    18,133
    Location:
    New England
    More information on Microsoft's two versions of XP (64-bit versus 32-bit):

    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/64bit/overview.asp
     
  4. Pretender

    Pretender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Virtual Paradise
    Using Windows ME. Will ck out site though.

    Thanks to both of you for the information.
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,015
    Well, you made it easy then. :) There is no 64-bit version of Windows ME.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  6. Pretender

    Pretender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Virtual Paradise

    "easy" .......what does that mean?!? hasn't got anything to do with microsoft does it!?! i wonder if they are familiar with the word. :rolleyes:
     
  7. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Thanks to Javacool and LowWaterMark for jumping in!!!
    Thanks guys !!!

    Bob,
    I'm afraid I didn't have the answer ready, oops :oops:.
    I'm running W 98 SE with IE 5.5, and I have to admit that I never got into that problem.
    I will post a screenshot about what my Help > About says.

    I really do hope that the postings from JC and LWM will help you!
     

    Attached Files:

  8. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,015
    Actually, for once it does have to do with Microsoft. :D

    Of course, knowing that only the 32-bit download would work is about the only thing "easy" about Windows ME. ;) (Besides the ability of users to predict, down to the second, when it will hang.)

    -Javacool
     
  9. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Bob,

    I agree: they didn't make it easy :rolleyes:

    See the following two pages:

    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/downloads/critical/q324929/default.asp

    This first page says:

    This update applies to Internet Explorer with the following operating systems:
    Windows XP SP1 64-bit
    Windows XP SP1
    Windows XP
    Windows Millennium Edition (Windows Me)
    Windows 2000
    Windows 98 SE
    Windows NT® 4.0 SP6A

    So, you could conclude from there that you with Windows ME, should not get the 64-bit version (that's only for a special version of XP, as stated also in a previous posting here).

    Then you want to download it, and you go to this page:

    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/downloads/critical/q324929/download.asp

    (And you select your language and click on GO).

    What you see there, is what I show in the following screenshot. You're right: they don't make it easy; it is confusing (because it looks like that you still can make a choice between two versions)!

    Nevertheless, as stated above, you need to get the 32-bit version.

    I hope this helps a little bit further...
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Pretender

    Pretender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Virtual Paradise
    Thank you very much! Learning more everyday.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.