Failed to restore image :(

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dutchmil, Jul 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dutchmil

    dutchmil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Hi there.....

    Quick question:
    I wanted to restore an image with windowsxp up and running.
    As expected Ti said that it had to reboot.....so it did....no errors nothing.
    So i thought that was quick....but guess what....nothing restored, XP just did a reboot without recovery.
    The only way it worked was with the rescue cd in safe mode(full mode did not recognize my HD).
    Why cant I recover in windows?
    Is it because of firewall and antivirus?
    Did anyone else run in to these kind of problems?

    Eventually it worked but I really would like it to work in windows straight away. Like powerquest drive-image from the past.

    Thanks for the replies in advance. :)
     
  2. thecreator

    thecreator Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Baltimore Co., Maryland USA
    Hi dutchmil,

    Do you have a SATA Hard Drive in addition to an IDE Hard Drive in your computer?
     
  3. dutchmil

    dutchmil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I have a SATA HD :) 320GB
     
  4. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    What version and what build?

    In TI Home v10, you can initiate the system drive restore from within Windows, but it will always reboot. Many of us feel you will get better and more consistent success if you initiate the recovery from within the Rescue CD.

    Data partition recovery do not require rebooting.
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    The problem is that the Full version of the recovery environment won't run properly on your PC. It is a Linux environment. Safe mode on the Rescue CD is actually a form of DOS but does not have USB, network drivers.

    When you reboot from Windows to restore the active partition TI is trying to start the Full version.

    The question is why. Have a look the following and be careful of the spelling for II:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=55317
     
  6. dutchmil

    dutchmil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Does this mean that I can not recover an image from a external HD via USB when in safe mode?

    Can I change a setting so Ti will reboot in safe mode instead of Full mode?
    Btw. i am using XP MCE.....
    It just sounds a bit strange that a program which should be compatible with XP and many more OS doesnt work as it should work. Why does it reboot in a linux environment when most people use windows? Correct me if i am wrong but not all people using XP have this problem, right?

    Dont get me wrong, I like Ti a lot but I would like to have the option, either rescuedisk or in windows.
    I would love to keep on using Ti cause as far as i know it is much better than Ghost....isnt it? :)
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If you have a newer computer, plug your USB hard drive in and then boot into the Safe Mode of TI from the TI cd. Find out if TI can see your USB drive. It does on my newer computers. It just depends on whether the BIOS supports the drive directly or not. If it does support it, it will most likely be at USB 1 speeds, so a restore will be slow, but doable.

    Not as far as I know. You would probably have to contact Acronis Support and have then send you a custom ISO that supports your hardware correctly. They may also be able to provide a workaround so booting from Windows will work.

    A lot of people have this problem. If the Linux drivers don't support the hardware (or not correctly) then there are problems. Acronis chose Linux for whatever their reasons were.

    Consider creating a BartPE boot cd. This uses the Windows drivers and ususally performs much faster than the Linux full mode. You can also add the Windows drivers necessary to support your hardware (RAID, Network, chipset, etc.)
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dutchmil,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that when restoring the system partition Windows cannot be active, so Acronis True Image has to reboot into Linux mode.
    Please make sure you use the latest build of Acronis True Image. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If updating doesn't solve the problem, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Note that if you use an older version of Acronis True Image (version 8.0 or lower) you should press F11 button when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears and not when the selection screen appears (Acronis True Image 8.0 Bootable Rescue CD for example does not have any selection screen).

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Please keep all drives in question connected and powered on during the creation process.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.