failed to read sector 0 of disk 0

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by videobruce, May 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. videobruce

    videobruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Posts:
    29
    I did a search and it turned up two threads 9 months ago with no apparent solution other than it was a bug (I beleive).

    Is this a bug, and is there a fix with True Image V8?

    thanks
     
  2. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Is it preventing you from using the software properly?
    Do you have any USB or other flash-type drives connected?
     
  3. videobruce

    videobruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Posts:
    29
    No not so far, though I haven't restored a drive yet, just made images.
    Yes to a card reader, but nothing inserted in any slot. The reader has four drive letters in Windows G, H, I & J
     
  4. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    You've got nothing to worry about, then.
     
  5. videobruce

    videobruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Posts:
    29
    You are saying it's the card reader and the 4 drive letters it has allocated?
    I have to click 4 times for that message to disappear.
     
  6. collisba

    collisba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    44
    It would be wonderful if you had the ability to set the image capture to ignore read problems right off the bat.. hopefully that will be a feature in the future.

    I've gotten the same error when my servers have drives mapped to my san, but the drive has been removed without rebooting the server... since the server still thinks the drive is there, but can't read from it.

    I doubt this, but do you have TI set to backup the drive letters on the card reader? I'd unplug the card reader if you can and see what happens.

    Brian
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello videobruce,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please let me know when you get the error message, your OS and the build number of the product. We will certainly help you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  8. videobruce

    videobruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Posts:
    29
    It doesn't appear to be a problem, just a annoyance.
    Another side issue, if I click on "ignore all", it doesn't. I still have to click through all 4 drive letters.

    I'm running 2k w/sp4, but that should matter since I'm using the bootable CD.I forgot to mention that detail about using the bootable CD instead of the program within Windows. Sorry 'bout that.

    I do have a MAJOR issue with those three services that have to run all the time even when I'm not running the program! I don't do any 'auto' anything or schedule tasks, so they are not needed AFAIK!

    It would be nice NOT to have those running all the time. Really spoils the program.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello videobruce,

    The problem may be with your hard disks. When you are under Windows please do the following:

    - Open "Start" -> "Run";
    - Issue the command

    chkdsk <drive letter>: /r

    for each drive letter you have.

    If the problem remains please create Acronis Report in the way described at Acronis Help Post and send it to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the state of your disk and provide you with the reason for the problem.

    As for the startup services please read the thread where Andrew has already described these three services performance.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.