Failed to open Acronis Secure Zone for exclusive access.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by drmohr, Apr 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drmohr

    drmohr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Anyone know why I could be getting the error message "Failed to open Acronis Secure Zone for exclusive access"? I was able to make a backup last night into the secure zone but I am unable to update it this morning. I am able to validate the backup I made last night.

    Thanks
    Dean
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Dean,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure that you use the latest build of the respective version of Acronis True Image which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    Please check each partition of your hard drives by Windows utility:

    - For Windows 9x please use Windows menu Start\Run
    then enter the command "scandskw" and test all drives;

    - For Windows XP please use Windows menu Start\Run, then enter the command
    "chkdsk c: /r" "chkdsk d: /r" for every partition of your hard drives.

    Please note that you will need to reboot your computer in order to scan the system partition.

    If that does not help then please download the latest version of Acronis drivers, install it with disabled logging and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists, please delete the old Acronis Secure Zone and create the new one.

    If that does not help, please create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also make a screen shot of the error message.

    Please create an account, then log in and submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  3. roma

    roma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,

    Same issue here. Created a full image in the secure zone. After reboot an incremental backup was done. At 07:30 and 19:30 incremental backups should run but both failed with the message: "Failed to open Acronis Secure Zone for exclusive access."
    Also unable to mount the image in the secure zone or modify (increase/decrease) the secure zone. Have created a new secure zone twice now and at first it runs well. After a couple of hours the next planned backup fails and none of the planned backups can run, all give the same error.

    This truely worries me since it seems I won't be able to restore the system when problems occur. Can not think of any tool or program that blocks the secure zone. I don't believe the virusscanner (Kaspersky) can block it. No additional information is available that might shine some light on the cause of this.

    Please advise.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello roma,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please create Acronis Report and export Windows System Information file as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Provide the files and information collected in your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Anton Sherkhonov
     
  5. roma

    roma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for your reply, but it seems my problem dissapeared with the uninstallation of the Disk Director Suite. So far True Image works fine again. Might be coinsidense since I can not understand how DDS would interfere with True Image, but the problem is gone.

    If the problem comes back again I'll follow the instructions in your post.

    Thanks again.
     
  6. worldcitizen

    worldcitizen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    I have the same problem. I have Secure Zone on my C drive and after creating an image and verifying it the next day I couldn't access it. Couldn't make an incremental backup or even verify it again. It was as if it had disappeared overnight. Not good at all.

    I posted about this yesterday here and my post seemed to have been removed. Why? I am here for the same issue and need support as I am not receiving any support or reply from Acronis since I posted about this issue and I want to solve it.

    Could someone please reply to my posts instead of wiping them from the forum?
     
  7. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Looks like your post is here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=985794#post985794
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.