Failed Restore/Recover

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by FrustratedUser, Sep 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FrustratedUser

    FrustratedUser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I am using Acrosnis True Image 9.0 and have had a disc failure. I attempted to restore from backup files from a second hard disc in my compuiter but the restore process gives me an "Acronis Error E000003F5: Error while opening archive file. The selected file is not an Acronis True Image Archive or the file is corrupted"

    I have vberified the file and all seems OK.

    Acronis support went through possible issues but no solution.

    When I verify the files they come up with strange dates on the files but when I look at them in Windows XP Pro the date is the correct date I created the files.

    Any help, experiences or just sympathy will be greatly appreciated.

    Ron
     
  2. FrustratedUser

    FrustratedUser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Apologies for the poor spelling
     
  3. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    My guess is that the failing disk caused a corrupt backup -- garbage in-garbage out. The disk was probably going south before you realized it.

    If you have a backup that dates farther back, before the disk began to fail, that would be the one to try to restore.

    Also, have you replaced the bad disk or are you still using it?
     
  4. FrustratedUser

    FrustratedUser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    The backup was done to a seperate disk to the one that failed.

    I will try an earlier backup.
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I'm assuming you are using the TI rescue CD to restore. I expect Acronis had you check this out already but is the rescue CD one made from the same version the archive was created with? Later is OK, too. TI changed engines mid-way through version 9 and boot CDs made with earlier builds cannot read archives created from later builds with the new TI engine.
     
  6. FrustratedUser

    FrustratedUser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I did not have a restore cd so I created one on my new computer and booted from this and tried the restore. It gave the same error message.

    Acronis tech support have not been very good but I am not an experienced user either. They did not suggest booting from the rescue CD just trying to restore from within windows.

    I will go back to the manuals and try to do it the right way. If you have any suggestions they would be gratfully received.

    Ron
     
  7. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    Boot your machine with the rescue CD, you may have to change the boot order in the Bios, and try validating the lates image from that. if it validates from the CD then you should be ok to try a restore, if you are restoring to a blank disk you have nothing to lose but time.
    If the latest image won't validate but an earlier one will you may be able to copy data files from the latest image by mounting it from Windows after a restore.
     
  8. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Yes, but you were backing up from a perhaps already failing disk. This a reason to keep as many backups as you practicably can. Hdisks rarely just stop - they start acting up in littel-noticed ways, and keep getting worse and worse unitl you know the hdisk is irretrievably wonky.

     
  9. FrustratedUser

    FrustratedUser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Acronis Tech Support sent me a copy of ATI v11 which resolved my issues. I don't know the reason for the problem but I have now been able to restore the files I had backed up and V9 would not restore.

    Many thanks for all the inputs.

    Ron
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.