Facebook Safeonline upgrade

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by GES/POR, Mar 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Hi,

    When upgrading with a Safe Online licence from the Facebook license do i still need to pay for the safeonline part?

    Wanted to upgrade to a full version but it shows the default price, ofc i can untick safeonline as an options but wanted to b sure the versions will merge also for future windows installations.

    Thanks,

    Ges
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The license should merge in the SafeOnline functionality automatically - if not, let me know :)
     
  3. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    If you have a current licence that only has the protection and not the safe online part can you add the facebook part to it. If so what is the best way to do it?
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    If you try uninstalling your existing version and then installing the Facebook version, then placing your license key into that copy, it should merge the functionality.

    If it doesn't, let me know and send me a PM with your license key and I'll take a look! :)
     
  5. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Worked like a charm. Thanks PH.
     
  6. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    The reason I wanted to do this is that when I renewed this licence I thought I had selected the Protection + Safeonline but I must have hit the wrong thing. It wasn't too clear on the website at that time how to renew and get Safeonline added as it was just new. Things are much clearer on the site now on how to be able to do this.
     
  7. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Regarding the Facebook SafeOnline installer, is there a plan to update it to include the Opera fix? Pretty please...:)
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yes it will after the current RC is done but I don't know how to update it to the newest RC version of Facebook SafeOnline but someone else will that is using it!

    TH
     
  9. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I just installed the RC over the Facebook one and it worked. This was after I had set up the Facebook one to use my detection and cleanup licence as Joe described to me above.
     
  10. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Ok maybe this didn't work out so good. Getting some browser crashes now.
     
  11. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Reverted back to the Facebook version and no crashes yet. The only difference I do notice is that there is no popup when Prevx is analysing programs. Could be where it is the Safeonline version.
     
  12. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This is turned off in the Facebook version to provide a more transparent user experience. Could you let me know some details on your browser crashes or if they are reproducible? We'd definitely be interested in correcting them as quickly as possible :)
     
  13. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I am trying to get it to crash again. So far I have restored the image that I made after installing the facebook version and entered the full realtime licence. Ran the browser for a few hours and no crashes. Installed the release candidate ver 3.0.5.103 over top of the facebook version and have been running it a while. I did have one crash but it was a different one. The other ones were on startup where the browser would open for a split second and then close again. It hasn't done that one yet. I did have Defensewall installed yesterday but haven't reinstalled it yet so I can I can see if it is a Prevx alone problem.

    The crash I had a while ago may be from Microsoft's error reporting as I forgot to disable it when I restored my image. I will send you the Dr Watson though.
     
  14. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Ok I have been able to get the crash to happen again. Was clicking on a link, at Wilders in fact, and the browser slammed shut. Info coming at you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.