F11 - Secure Zone - Restore?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ronaldschneider, Aug 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronaldschneider

    ronaldschneider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I installed TI 11 Home
    I created a securezone of 50% of drive space on 1st hd (only one installed)
    I successfully made a full backup of partition (C:) on SZ
    I started TI by pressing F11 during boot
    I tried to restore and failed

    --> as location to get image from i only saw "Arbeitsplatz" (english: "my Computer")
    --> How can i select secure zone as source for restore?
    --> I read ALL of the booklet and a lot in this forum but didn't find my mistake

    System info: fresh installed acer laptop with XP Pro and drivers

    what i wanted from TI: If User messes up his notebook he can press F11 select restore and can work on (and doesn't bring the notebook to me again)
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    And if the hard drive dies how are you planning to get the user back to some semblance of workability? Or is the factory restore going to suffice in this situation?
     
  3. Wandering2

    Wandering2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    110
    I presume you made a bootable rescue disk. Boot on it, and then see what it offers you for recovery options. If you haven't then do make one.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ronaldschneider,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please make sure you use the latest build (8105) of Acronis True Image 11 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to reactivate Acronis Startup Recovery Manager and recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  5. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Buy an external HDD and create backups onto the external HDD. This protects you in case the 1st HDD fails.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.