F-Secure

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by darts, May 10, 2015.

  1. MeAgain

    MeAgain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    65
    Anyone worried about its high false positive rate in the recent AV Comparatives Real-World Protection Test?
     
  2. Ripcord

    Ripcord Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Posts:
    118
    No concern on false postive,care more about detection....also banking protection is a plus if you do online banking in my opinion.....
     
  3. MeAgain

    MeAgain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    65
    Thanks Ripcord. Yeah, I did a scan and everything was fine, not one false positive. I installed the Antivirus version, not the Internet Security version, so I don't think I have banking protection. I'm behind a router though. So far I like F-Secure. It seems to run light and no surfing lowdowns. Take care.
     
  4. Motherroad

    Motherroad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Florida
    False Positiveso_O Unsure where this comes from. Been using this for years and have had no false positives. The only thing I have had is a bad update that slowed my browsing down but it was fixed soon so no big deal.
     
  5. MeAgain

    MeAgain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    65
    Good to know Motherroad. Thanks.
     
  6. chillstream

    chillstream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    Croatia
    I just uninstalled F-Secure Anti-Virus. Tested it for about a week on my primary desktop machine (AMD FX-6300, 8GB RAM, Sapphire Radeon R7 260X OC, Win 8.1) and I'm sorry to say that the performance is just sub-par on this system.
    For the first time ever I saw a pop-up prompt from the Windows Action Center advising me that I should probably disable the main F-Secure process and its Settings and diagnostics process (IIRC) from starting up with the system because it has such an adverse effect on boot-up. This hasn't happened with any other AV/IS before.
    Double-clicking on the tray icon would sometimes bring up the main application window in 1-2 seconds, but other times it would take up to 10-15 seconds just to start the GUI (and that's after the system had been running for a while).
    Also, the F-Secure update process would sometimes lock up the my browser or at least slow it down when it performs its update. As soon as the update completed, the browser would go back to working normally.
    Manual scans also had a negative effect on system performance for the duration of the scan. Navigating the HDD in Windows Explorer would lag, launching browsers would take minutes+ and the system overall would be barely usable during scanning. Most other AVs at least allow for comfortable web browsing experience while waiting for the system scan to finish.
    I haven't experienced many false positives (Deep Guard monitored only 2 of my legit applications and it allowed them), and while the protection that this Finnish AV provides may be stellar, I cannot stand the excessive sluggishness so it had to go.
    After uninstalling the program in the normal way and cleaning leftover files with their custom Uninstall tool, the PC suddenly sprang to life, booting in seconds and opening all applications and games with ease.
     
  7. MeAgain

    MeAgain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    65
    Wow! None of those problems on my ASUS Notebook. Intel Core i5 with 8GB 240GHz. Had Mcafee AV on before and I see no difference in PC or browsing. However, Microsoft Word occasionally shows Not Responding when closing it, and that didn't happen with Mcafee. Also F-Secure Host Process rates high for start up in Task Manager.
     
  8. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    957
    I have gone back to the ultralight version. Its lighter and has banking protection.
     
  9. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,750
    Location:
    UK
  10. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,801
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Hi there!
    I am using the Antivirus for last few days after upgrading to Win10 Pro. It is causing several slow-downs with downloads, software upgrades etc. Browsing speed is not affected (noticeably) though. Anyone experiencing the same thing?
     
  11. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    using IS2015 on one of my PCs and haven't noticed any performance issues. do you have any other security software on that PC? if so, have you properly excluded it in F-Secure's settings?
     
  12. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,801
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yesterday, I have installed MBAM Pro along with it, but before that F-Secure was the standalone security product, and the problem existed that time also. I have of of-course excluded MBAM in F-Secure settings. Now, I am disabling F-Secure for starting downloads of any kind, and re-enabling it after it is finished. It is getting very much annoying. :(
     
  13. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,058
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Extremely light on my machine Core i7 and is lighter than Webroot on the web at least for my machine.
     
  14. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    @sg09

    You could try a uninstall/fresh install and see if that helps.

    1. Use the specific Uninstaller tool (it will work on WIN 10);

    https://www.f-secure.com/en_GB/web/home_gb/support-tools

    https://community.f-secure.com/t5/Security-for-PC/How-do-I-uninstall-F-Secure/ta-p/64217

    2. Re-install F-Secure.

    If this still does not work I would revert back to Windows Defender (a good combination with MBAM Pro) or try another AV. Good luck.
     
  15. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    Light on my machine also. No issue.
     
  16. Motherroad

    Motherroad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Florida
    Light here also. Running with MBAM Pro. No issues.
     
  17. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,801
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    @Blackcat Thanks for your reply. However, I have reverted back to WSA+MBAM combo.
     
  18. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    227
    Hi. My Internet service provider, Charter Communications, provides subscribers free use of their own branded version of F-Secure Internet Security and I have been trying it out for the past day or two. I like it quite a bit and my computer runs pretty well with with it loaded. The Charter branding is minimal and it is hard to argue with the price (free). One thing that I wonder/worry about is if this Charter version has the latest modules or capabilities of F-Secure's product. For instance, the Charter version doesn't seem to make any mention of banking protection. Is there supposed to be a module for that?

    I have copied in below what my software shows as it's module versions. Can someone check their F-Secure Internet Security and tell me if these are the same as yours? Thanks in advance for your help.

    Security Suite 14.121 build 103
    Anti-Virus 11.00 build 20380
    DeepGuard 5.0 build 580
    E-mail Filtering 1.02 build 20381
    Management Agent 8.30 build 43153
    User Interface 12.00 build 260
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2015
  19. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    227
    Here is a picture of the main screen of the Charter version I am using.

    upload_2015-9-13_17-1-29.png
     
  20. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    iirc, it's under settings > browsing protection, but I could be wrong
     
  21. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,062
    click on online safety from that window and you should see the banking protection.
     
  22. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    459
    Installed FS Protection (Their All-in-one product) and it's light, quick, and working well. The program starts up a bit slow and I don't see any option to make it start with windows BEFORE anything else, but it's a minor issue. I haven't noticed boot times changing from ESET, and things seem snappier, but that could just be a placebo effect.
     
  23. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    227
    Well, I checked for the presence of banking protection in my Charter branded version of F-Secure and it is not there anywhere. I guess F-Secure doesn't want to give away all of their latest technology. I also determined that a few of the Charter modules are an update or two behind the corresponding modules found in FS Protection. I downloaded a trial of that to check it out. At least the Charter version is the 2015 edition of F-Secure.

    In any case, I will probably just keep this on my little-used laptop and use one of my other licenses on my desktop machine. I want to make sure I have all the latest capabilities if I am using a company's product so I will just keep buying a license every so often for my more important machine. I think I currently have active licenses for ESET, Bitdefender, Avira, and BullGuard products. Avira seems to be rocking along pretty well at the moment and I will probably use that.
     
  24. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    460
    Location:
    Dubai
    Sorry to bump and old thread but how come no one talk about F-Secure despite it getting good results from AV Testing companies and it scores in 2nd place in the Performance Test - October from AV Comparatives?
     
  25. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    460
    Location:
    Dubai
    I just installed the F-Secure Anti-Virus and it's super light on my system! I immediately felt my internet snappier than when I had NOD32 v11
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.