F-Secure Internet Security Technology Preview

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by s4u, Jan 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    There has been a new build available.
    Product offers:

    * Virus & Spy Protection, Blacklight scanning for hidden malware and the new, proactive 0-day protection technology DeepGuard™ in System Control.
    * Internet Shield with Firewall
    * Spam Control with protection against spam and phishing
    * Parental Control
    * Safeweb, browser plug-in. Search Engine Result Rating on Google, Yahoo and Live Search. Helping you protect your personal information and security on the Internet. Safe Web also protects you against web pages known to host various kinds of malicious applications. More information about Safe Web can be found on the F-Secure Safe Web Technology Preview page.

    New features:

    * Updated User Interface - The look and feel of the user interface has been updated. Note that this is the first of many upcoming changes, and not the final user interface.

    * Safe Web - Safe Web shows information about rated links only when user clicks an icon by default.
    Previously information about a rated link was shown when the user moved the mouse cursor over a rating icon by default. This has been changed, so the default option is now to show information only when the rating icon is clicked.

    * New Parental Control categories -Support for three additional Parental Control categories has been added: Blogs, Forums, and Social networks.

    * Refined infection cleaning dialog -The dialog which is presented when a virus is being removed has been refined so it’s possible to minimize it and use the computer while the infection is being cleaned. The look and feel of the dialog has also been updated, and an accurate progress bar has been added.

    Interesting?
     
  2. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    So on paper, it looks like they have now added a Webpage Rating tool similar to SiteAdvisor/WOT and also updated the AV pop-up to avoid flood of warnings bringing the system to a halt.

    Seems minor and incremental. My major grumble with F-Secure has been its general resource hungriness. If they can do a Norton and make it light, it would really make many heads turn.
     
  3. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    They claim it's lighter- but not light enough.
     
  4. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    LOL - same name for their site-rating component as Symantec. xD
     
  5. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Gentlemen,

    Can someone please tell me WHERE the download link to this "newer" version of F-Secure is located? I have looked around on their website and I can't find it.....

    Thanks in advance.
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
  7. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    beat you by 1 minute.;)
     
  9. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    Thanks to trjam and tiagozt for providing the download link for this new beta software! I appreciate your time.
     
  10. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    Yeah! <o>

    Regards
     
  11. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    this is definetly crazy.....i have been updating the package for last 1hr and finally it has stopped after downloading close to 70-80mb worth of updates......
    u don't expect this after downloading 91mb software package....
    man,had i known this before i wouldn't have touched in 100yrs...
     
  12. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Thanks for the headsup though :argh:
     
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    the intial update can be time consuming. I found if it hangs just reboot and it will go very quickly. I still say, once it is loaded, it is as fast as any other AV or suite I have used. Actually faster then some well known here. But it can be a bear to install.
     
  14. apm

    apm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Posts:
    162
    lazy f-secure team, no change in the program structure and interface, just change interface color:doubt:
     
  15. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    And yours does.:cautious:

    I am running the Preview and it is running great. Hats off to F-Secure.:thumb:
     
  16. elvis1959

    elvis1959 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Posts:
    34
    Would this be stable enough to put on a computer that you use regularly? Has the firewall been improved so that it is not so "noisy" with multitudes of unrecognized programs? Would this be light enough to run on an AthlonX2 with Vista Home Basic and 2GB of RAM?
     
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    yes, that PC sounds like mine. Set Virus and Spyware Protection to Normal not High for now though.
     
  18. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    It's not light enough contrary to what others here are saying. It was the worst program I have ever used in terms of noise and load on my system.
     
  19. ^Ale

    ^Ale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Italy
    How many processes now? I remember 15 on FIS 2008.

    ^Ale
     
  20. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    Reminds me of McAfee Virus Scan Plus. It also has a large update file. Why the heck these guys do such things anyway? Do they just want to sound too tough or what? I hate big updates.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2009
  21. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello,
    the difference is that f-secure acually protects very well.
    its uses the older kaspersky engine and signitures.
    it also uses f-secure in house devoloped engines to create the best security products. i think in the end f-secure should make there engines so good that the kaspersky engine is no longer needed. i think that will help lighten the product.
    you may know notice in my sig that i am a fan of both f-secure and kaspersky.

    i intend to test the lastest f-secure tech preview tomorrow.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2009
  22. tiagozt

    tiagozt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    I'm testing the new version. It's almost the same of previous version, the same 15 processes but with less resource usage.
    I think the update problem that someone related was a kind of bug or mistake. I downloaded the install package with about 80Mb, installed and updated the software in minutes (the first time is always slowly). I had no problems.
     
  23. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    yes, still 15 processes but keep in mind this product has HIPS and Intrusion Protection so geez, there should be extra processes.

    In reference to the intial download, on my desktop it takes 2 reboots to finally get it installed, on my laptop the indicator goes very fast, so I think it also deals with the computer it is going on.

    With the ISTP there are some features that will show Lodore but are not active yet. Also set it to normal av protection for now.

    But after all the years here, it is still the fastest suite on 3 computers I have and they are all different. Damn good protection.

    Enjoy those specialty programs from vendors folks, give me a fat ass suite and I am happy.;)
     
  24. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    still happy.;)

    Hey Lodore, did you get Baby Huey loaded up.;)

    Talk about doing a 360 when loaded and speed, it still marvels me.
     
  25. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    well i don't think it is better then McAfee this days. They are both secure but i have seen F_secure cause web slow downs while mcAfee not and the first runs so many processes that don't necessarily show is a better product.
    At the end it might also be a matter of fame and taste.
    McAfee has had a poor reputation and this was based on true reports
    As far as taste is concerned i think i like none of them
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.