F-Secure Internet Security 2011 10.50

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by AvinashR, Sep 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1

    Download:- --http://download.f-secure.com/estore/fs2011.exe--
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 8, 2010
  2. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    thx avi
    so is it officially annonced .
    checking if old key would work on new version
     
  3. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Old key will definitely work.. As far Official announcement is concerned, it has yet to be announced. But the download link is of final version "Inside Story" ... :p
     
  4. qakbot

    qakbot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Posts:
    380
    Looks like another wagon got hitched to the Norton train.
     
  5. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    OMG, It updates very slow ... :(

    Took an hour to update its virus definitions completely ... :oops:
     
  6. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Screen-Shots "F-Secure Internet Security 2011 10.50"
     

    Attached Files:

  7. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1

    Screen-Shots ....
     

    Attached Files:

  8. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    Does it still start like a dozen processes when it's installed? I'm kind of allergic to such things, even if it doesn't mean noticable system impact.
     
  9. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    thx avi for screens
     
  10. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thanks AvianshR for update and snaps. I will give it a try.
     
  11. buckslayr

    buckslayr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Posts:
    484
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Is it heavy like 2010 or is it lighter?
     
  12. hckyo

    hckyo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    93
    is almost the same in resources ... I installed the AV version yesterday .. and it took just 2 mb more than 2010 version.

    still slowdowns my system .. I will continue without AV :p
     
  13. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    the issue with f-secure has always been the same. uses alot of resources.
    its slowly getting better but wish they would do more to improve resources used.
     
  14. JoakimM

    JoakimM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Location:
    Lomma, Sweden
    I do too. I praised the product when betatesting the 2010 version for its evolution from earlier versions and I had hoped F-Secure would have made significant resource changes in the 2011 version since that is what people have been asking for again and again but...no. With that said, it is truly a very good antimalware product, probably one of the best there is could you live with it slowing down your computer, but for me I´ll stick to MSE and F-Secure´s online scanner when needed.

    Regards,
    Joakim
     
  15. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    F-Secure has always been a lug to install but I have always found that after installation it is one of the lighest products I have used. 2011 is a big improvement over 2010.:thumb:
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    it certainly slows down older computers say single core athlon 3200 with 1gb ram windows xp.
     
  17. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    i tested it out and it was fine on my machine. didn't notice any slowdown (pretty fast box though, 4.1GHz quad, 8gb ram etc) - i like the art and the ui design is elegant and easy to use. i didn't have any trouble wrt updating. the initial update took around 5 minutes to complete. all other updates occurred transparently with no issues.

    didn't really care for the firewall...had to manually add rules to allow the machine to connect to my fileserver. even in "learning" mode, i ended up having to add rules pretty regularly. it is a beta though, so i wouldn't expect perfect performance or anything, but it was just a little too annoying for me to use day-to-day in its current state.
     
  18. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum

    not any more... looks like the release is official now.
    http://www.f-secure.com/en_US/
     
  19. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    ah, right on. i tested it while it was in beta and it was plenty stable, even in that phase, the firewall just bugged me.
     
  20. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
  21. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    any changelog avinash ?
     
  22. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thanks AvinashR for update :) Waiting for change log...
     
  23. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Sorry guys, no change log found. :(
     
  24. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Anyone know if the PrevX SOL and F Secure AV issue has been fixed?
     
  25. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    if you're referring to the endless "allow modifcation prompts" during prevx product updates- i worked around it by disabling automatic updates on prevx, and when a new release hits, temporarily disable f-secure and invoke the prevx update. this was the fix suggested to me by prevx support, as f-secure won't change the way their product works to allow compatibility with prevx. i haven't encountered any other problems whatsoever. i'm still using both IS2011 and paid prevx w/sol with no issues.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.