F-Secure Has a Smarter Cloud

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Arin, Oct 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
  2. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    v2011 with cloud access was already included.
     
  3. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
  4. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Has Client Security also cloud features like their 2011 home products?
     
  5. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    just a quick question, does an internet security license work for the antivirus?
     
  6. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Nope, you've to wait till the next version of Client Security. I didn't see any beta yet tough, maybe someone else has more information on this?
     
  7. Magnus Mischel

    Magnus Mischel Security Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    185
    This sounds very much like the coming TrojanHunter Cloud ;)
     
  8. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    @firzen771: No, but you can disable components/custom install internet security to suite your need.
     
  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    thats unfortunate, but last time i remember fsecure didnt have a custom component based install, u could only disable certain features within, and even then u couldnt technically disable the firewall if i remember correctly.
     
  10. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Wish they would incorporate this "cloud" into their AV 2011.
     
  11. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    they do. it's called deepguard.
     
  12. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    In an old thread, Pedro from Panda mentioned that F-Secure doesn't do reputation checks in the cloud like PrevX, Panda or Symantec.

    So this is new and was announced last month. So are you saying that this reputation check was also tested?
     
  13. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    Thats not right. F-Secure CS has cloud scanning feature enabled by default.
     
  14. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    Nice! thanks for the info... I always thought DeepGuard was their behaviour shield... o_O
     
  15. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Deepguard is their heuristics engine.
     
  16. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 6, 2010
  17. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Then your reading conflicting information with what I was told personally by F Secure during a remote session with a technician.

    Within F Secures own help file:

    Says nothing about cloud technology.
     
  18. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    btw, i just launched peerblock and got the application rating so im excited to see its working AND that its actually reported to the user what the programs reputation is(as in its not just behind the scene reputations) sot hat was cool
     
  19. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    This page on F-Secure's own website describes Deepguard briefly, and they give their definition of what they mean by "in the cloud" technology, which they do use within Deepguard via Network Lookups.
     
  20. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    i guess the labs & engineering divisions of f-secure must be misinformed :rolleyes:

    the whitepaper i linked that described the technology in detail with the names of the heuristic engine and other modules, as well as diagrams of how the client communicates with the cloud and how the client leverages the determination of the cloud to determine the status of a file.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 6, 2010
  21. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    Add to that, their own website references it.

    Perhaps earlier versions of Deepguard didn't use the same techniques as 2.0 does now.
     
  22. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    deepguard has had cloud integration since 2008, which is also discussed in the whitepaper from f-secure labs/engineering.


    excerpt from the aforementioned f-secure labs whitepaper:

    further

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 6, 2010
  23. Arin

    Arin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    997
    Location:
    India
    Deepguard incorporated cloud technology in version 2.0. It wasn't there in Deepguard 1.0.
     
  24. apm

    apm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Posts:
    162
    cloud is still using "signature", advanced behavioral detection e.g. SONAR, Threatfire, AVG IDP is better
     
  25. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    it does have behavioral detection in deepguard... idk if its like sonar, but it definetely reports on behavior and on reputation and if the program is common (many users or not)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.