F-Secure Firewall?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Jun 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I may go to the F-Secure IS on my laptop as I am trialing the AV, and wonder what the firewall is in the IS. Is it their own firewall?

    Currently I am using Kerio 2.1.5 on my laptop, so do not mind changing it if the F-Secure firewall is a good one.

    I notice both the AV and the IS have an anti-spyware module. I assume they are the same.

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  2. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,633
    Location:
    UK
    I believe the AS component is a re-branding of Lavasoft's Ad-Aware.
     
  3. betauser2

    betauser2 Guest

    Actually Lavasoft Adawre SE Pro ;)

    The firewall is very user freindly.

    Trial it first. It runs a lot of processes
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 4, 2006
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I got f-secure internet secuirty 2006 at the mo it protects you but uses up quite a lot of resourses. dont get me wrong but because of the high recousrse useage I might wait till the eset secuorty suite comes out and get that.

    if ya dont mind the high resourse usage it is a great program.
     
  5. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks for the replies. I know it uses a lot of resources. The AV uses more than any other AV I have used, but I do not notice any slowdown on my computer. I think about the only thing that the IS has that would take much memory is the firewall. I do not have a feel for how it compares with Kerio 2 that I am using.

    My one reservation about the F-Secure AV is the frequency of updates as compared with KAV for instance. Also, sometimes it checks for updates, but does not update until a later update check, when the site says that there has been an update for several hours.

    I have found F-Secure to be unobtrusive, and it runs well with my other applications.

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    the F-secure firewall actually works pretty well, and as far as the resource use goes I have never experienced a slow down with F-Secure. And I see f-secure updating several time a day fairly often but at least once a day which is suffecient unless there is an outbreak and then they will release an update to cover it. Overall F-Secure Internet security is a pretty flipping good security app. :thumb:
     
  7. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks, BigC. I like it myself. It is a good one and fully equal to NOD, KAV, and BD if it runs well on a particular system. The six months trial is very generous. Of course if it is not good, then so what, but in this case it is an excellent AV.

    As I have stated, it is on my laptop, and that computer is not used much. It never stays on for more than an hour or so. That may make it unfair for me to be critical of the update frequency. However, the update site does not indicate several updates a day. Maybe that depends upon any outbreak. If nothing new, then it doesn't make sense to worry about updates.

    I can't tell if it updated more than once today.
    I wonder why it continues to say, "F-Secure Anti-Virus detects Nyxem.E with this update." Isn't that the same statement that has been there for awhile? Maybe I have not been careful enough to note that the malware has been different.

    Anyway, I do have high confidence in the judgment of yourself, and others here who consider it high quality, and that the update frequency is not a problem.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i do agree that f-secure is great protection but use upo to much resourse so needs replacing here
     
  9. ronny

    ronny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    Belgium
    Does anyone knows This?

    I have a license for Kaspersky antivirus & ZoneAlarm Pro, but F-secure Internet Security is included by my provider in my internet subscription. So i can download & install it if i want.
    So you can say i paid for all 3, but which one do i install?
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    use kav6.0 and zonealarm pro that will give you great protection while having little slowdown
    lodore
     
  11. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i would recommend the f-secure suite over kav and ZA pro, za pro has some spyware things in that will conflict with kaspersky, so that will have to be turned off nd if you aint carefull, i have also heard of certain settings can conflict with KAV aswell.

    f-secure is a suite, all compents will work flawlessly together, you get the kaspersky antivirus engine anyway, but you also get a better spyware detection and you get deepguard HIPS (norman sandbox) thrown into the deal aswell, i think the firewall is their own, but it works great, id recommend it on STRICT, but you may have a problem connecting to newsgroups, if you use those... just switch it to NORMAL, which will still keep you stealthed and secure, trust me.

    plus the added piece of mind to only keep a eye on one product instead of two, it truly is a great suite.

    on most machines, the only slowdown you will notice is a boot up slow down, and not with pc performance, but its not much... about 20 seconds extra on reboot *lol*
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2007
  12. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Though I was apprehensive at changing the FW to Strict at first, I haven't had any connection problems at all, even with newsgroups as was mentioned.
     
  13. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    off topic posts removed and ask once again to take off topic chitchat to PM.
     
  14. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I tried FSIS 2007, and all worked without problems. Although I prefer individual applications for no particularly good reason, I liked the suite and have to assume that the FS firewall is a good one.
    I would be satisfied to use the 2007 FSIS as my primary security application. I always hate to have to train a new firewall, but the FS firewall was not bad at all.

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  15. ronny

    ronny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    Belgium
    Thank you all for replying! It is much appreciated.
    I know the feeling, but as you said we don't have any good reason :)
    Again i know the feeling. I know ZoneAlarm rather good. I've been buying it for 4 years for several pc's, although the support wasn't terrific (especially if you compare it with the support of BoClean, TrojanHunter, Ewido, Kaspersky,....To name just a few). I also had nightmares every time a new version appeared. But because i was a bit lazy, read not-so-bad reviews of it and especially was used to it, i kept using it.

    But i understand that it isn't too time consuming or difficult to learn the FIS firewall?
     
  16. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    you dont really do anything with it, it will pop up when a new application wants to connect to the internet, allow / deny etc etc and thats it.
     
  17. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,184
    F-Secure's firewall is pretty basic what I saw when visiting a friend family.
    Compared to kerio 2.1.5 as a packet filter I mean.
    They had an ISP contract for that protection for the suite, but not sure if it was the latest version.

    Anyways, it would propably work just fine. So if you are happy with it, I think it is recommended to keep it. The Antivirus should be on tops anyways.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.