F-secure-discount

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by larryb52, Dec 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    looking to buy F-secure anyone know a link for a discount on the suite...?
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
  3. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    thanks, totally discusted with the others,
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    the AV is nice and simple plus has DeepGuard Technology in it. My browsing is as fast as any of the others.
     
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    just curious i believe you tried kaspersky correct? just wondering what you didnt like about it knowing that f-secure uses their engine.. sorry to be off topic just being curious. thanks

    i really liked f-secure if it had not had the slowwwwwwwww at startup i would be using it today honestly i really liked the overall suite and browsing was fine with it just the long startup that killed it for me.
     
  6. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    I just calculated euro prices:

    EURO:

    F-Secure Anti-Virus 2008, 1-3 user, Windows Vista / WinXP, Multilingual € 65,90-€ 26,36=€ 39,54
    F-Secure Internet Security 2008, 1-3 user, Windows Vista / WinXP, Multilingual € 79,90-€ 31,96=€ 47,94

    INDIAN RUPEE:

    F-Secure Anti-Virus 2008, 1-3 user, Windows Vista / WinXP, Multilingual 700,00 INR-280,00 INR=420,00 INR -> 7.26171429 Euros
    F-Secure Internet Security 2008, 1-3 user, Windows Vista / WinXP, Multilingual 1700,00 INR-680,00 INR=1020,00 INR -> 17.6355918 Euros


    Sadly I don't like those products and yes I'm from Finland too :D

    -MikeNAS
     
  7. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Slow startup was the only complaint I had with FSIS. Like you I would probably still be using it otherwise. However, I would not hesitate to go back to it if I ever left KIS. I believe that FS is one of the tops in security. It was also the best "install and forget" suite or AV I used.

    Hi Jeff, nice avatar. o_O

    Regards,
    Jerery
     
  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    agreed i would say it would either be f-secure or avira if i ever switched. the only thing that held me from buying avira was price. and with this deal f-secure has if you like it i would def grab them before thats gone!!!! i also liked bitdefender 2008 if it was not so buggy for me so id have to play with that one again if i ever decided to look again. for now im def happy with kis7. and to think all the years i shunned kaspersky because of my experiences with kis5 then 6.. 7 is a whole new story. but like a lot did also with nis2008. sorry to be off topic we can no go back to the original one. sorry again
     
  9. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    The fact that F-Secure still hasn't got 64bit support makes even the smallest amount of money they ask for their program uninteresting for me. I can hardly believe that they brag about their Vista 32 bit support. A real stupid thing that the 64 bit version don't exist at all!
     
  10. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    And the AV is for 2 years as well, isn't it? :D

    Great prices IMO :)
     
  11. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126

    Kiss tore up a baseball simulation I play & dispite some attempts to get Kiss to ignore the files or boxscores & scoresheets it creates it kept corrupting the files so I had to remove Kiss. Nod32 or ESS's firewall keeps turning off. Norton well it gives me different errors everytime I install it so I'm resorting to F-Secure. I had used it in 05 & have always thought highly of it & the trial I ran sometime ago it ran fine, so I'll buy it,
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    they are both 1 year, it was due to licencse stacking. But they are both great deals.
     
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Larry 2008 is a lot lighter then the past.
     
  14. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    and it loads no slower than Nod so I can live with the loading & I respect their technology on Deepguard, it is about protection so if it takes an extra minute to load no problem...
     
  15. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r

    really it doesnt take longer at boot up than nod? or ess? if so then i def have something wrong with my version or something. my f-secure took FOREVER when initially booting up i mean the hard drive light was on and i could not really do anything for like 5-10 minutes on a fresh vista premium install ... i would have loved to stay with f-secure if it was not for the long wait times. i reboot often as opposed to it sleeping as i move my laptop a lot and dont want it on while in moving it around due to prying hands and eyes even with a password..
     
  16. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,126
    no I get about a 3 minute load time & yes it's vista but I run a program called Tweak vista that I use to cut down alot of vistas crap. I have other programs that actually boot faster like Kav but it's only a minute faster not a big deal. The combo that took the longest is the Nodv3 AV & Outpost pro firewall was a good 5 minute boot...
     
  17. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    436
    Hi,

    any one having idea about licensing policy of F-Secure ?

    Like if Kaspersky license not used, than it start automatically after three months.

    but what is in F-Secure ?
     
  18. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    licences start when you first install using it.
     
  19. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    436
    means, even I can use it after one year or two year too ?


     
  20. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    yep, as far as im aware.

    im currently using a 2006 licence on 2008. (difference snapshot)

    im a drwebber, just you remember that! :D
     
  21. donrayden

    donrayden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1

    the new f-secure 2008 beta supports vista 64bit. (actually only AV at this time, but the other components should be released soon for 64bit)

    my problem with f-secure is the web scanner. you cannot stream flash videos atall. you have to wait until the video is completly downloaded before it can be played. can anyone confirm that?
     
  22. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    not sure about that but i do know i had issues watching large video files while testing f-secure..
     
  23. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    the new 2008 version is much lighter. I know that there are some new & updated parts being tested as we speak in the ISTP version. These mak the build even more smooth
     
  24. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Here in the UK, some of the Banks, Barclays for example, offer F-Secure free if you on-line bank with them.
     
  25. rayoflight

    rayoflight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    180
    I encountered the same issues with almost all http scanners:GData,KAV,Avast,BitDefender,F-Secure etc.Including reduced internet speed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2007
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.