F-Secure av (free 1 year for everyone)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by acr1965, Jul 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pabrate

    pabrate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    685
    Working fine with Comodo FW 5.12 , though for some reason after installation it enabled Windows firewall which I had to disable again manually.
    I also disabled "Ask my permission to make an internet connection" setting in DeepGuard , I guess it uses Windows FW for that.
     
  2. cobrafirefly

    cobrafirefly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Posts:
    68
    I was stoked to try this, then the Hydra module kept failing to install/update and I kept getting "malfunction" status and it wouldn't scan. Tried rebooting, reloading etc. Eventually gave up and did what I thought was a clean uninstall, and afterrebooting, CCleanering, etc I tried to reinstall it. Upon return it said that I had already tried my trial and I had to buy a full version now. Lame. Oh well.
     
  3. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,559
    I downloaded the F-Secure installer the other day when this Thread was started. I see that F-Secure has discontinued the 'free 1 year for everyone' download.

    Has anyone tried to run the installer recently to see if it still activates a one year license?

    I am thinking about trying F-Secure later when one of my other PC Antivirus licenses expire.
     
  4. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    I have to be honest, having no web scanner worries me a bit, thinking about going back to Avast. I'm probably being paranoid, but hey...
     
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,752
    The promotion will expire on July 31,2013.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2260053&postcount=33
    -----------
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2260078&postcount=38
     
  6. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    USA
    Ouch . Now that stinks
     
  7. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,411
    Location:
    Lancashire
    hi Disney

    just wanted to let you know that the issue was unique to me. it might work properly for you so don't let my experiences put you off
     
  8. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I am not seeing this behaviour with the IS suite(either the 2013 version or the 2014 beta) so either it's a bug confined to the AV or as treehouse suggests, to his particular setup.
     
  9. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    The link forwards to the F-secure download page, and I do not see an option (after 10+ mins of searching) for a year free. Has this expired?

    If so, I should kick myself. I want to run F-secure on everything but my gaming PC, and it is using NOD32 7 beta right now simply because F-secure makes my "power" and "plug and play" services crash on my gaming rig, aside from that it is the lightest of the light.
     
  10. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
  11. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,928
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Austerity Check your private messages.
     
  12. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    Much thanks.
     
  13. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    I uninstalled and now it will not let me use the key again,it says its been used once on this computer .So saving the key does not work.
     
  14. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
    May I ask why you uninstalled F-Secure?
     
  15. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    Yes i had Trusteer Rapport on also and was not sure what was slowing computer down.Slowdown too much for me with both on.Decided to go with just Fsecure but too late now.Will put Bitdefender free with it ,those two not too bad.
     
  16. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,928
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    sent but read personal messenger before trying to install.
     
  17. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you !:)
     
  18. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    You could try the specific F-Secure uninstaller; ftp://ftp.f-secure.com/support/tools/uitool/ and then try an install again.

    But it looks as if they have hard-coded this "free" version the same as the trial version; only 1 install allowed unless you ask for a license key re-set (or you have a rollback/imaging program installed).
     
  19. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    958
    Yes i contacted their support ,and they said use the uninstall tool and it should then work,but triede that and it didnt
     
  20. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    does f-secure av scans network traffic ? cause sometimes when i try open malicious link blocks it before download but sometimes it doesnt give anything and block/delete only after download..
     
  21. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    475
    Apparently the web scanner is only in the Internet Security suite.
     
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,752
    Product Comparison
    http://www.f-secure.com/en/web/home_global/anti-virus
    ........
     
  23. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
  24. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    611
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    what i mean is this
    fav.png
    but sometimes f-secure av dont give me that warning but only when file already downloaded
     
  25. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    369
    My key got blocked. By f-secure was using in
    Sweden :(




    UPDATE

    key working agin. dont know why they blocked it and then allowed it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.