F-Secure AV Engines

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Feb 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    If I remember correctly F-Secure AV has at least 5 different engines, to include Kaspersky and AdAware. What are the engines? I have found them in the past, but cannot find them now.

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  2. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Libra = F-Prot´s macro and script scanner.
    DeepGuard = Norman Sandbox (?)
     
  3. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    [going from memory here]

    AVP: Kaspersky
    Libra: FS's signature base
    Orion: FS's heuristics base
    Draco: AdAware(?, since they have implied that '07 has a new AS engine)
    BlackLight: FS's Rootkit detection
     
  4. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    Pegasus: Norman
     
  5. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
  6. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    nevermind... damn you Google!

    http://www.f-secure.com/f-secure/pressroom/protected/prot-3-2006/17-459-3669.shtml
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    thanks Namor. Interesting reading.
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
  9. Simon6776

    Simon6776 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Posts:
    282
    Ah, now this is very interesting:-

    I wonder if this could be connected with my F-Secure spyware scanner crashing? Before I installed FSIS 2007, I has KIS on board, and when I removed KIS, I elected to save the licensing info, and other settings, including iSwift and iChecker data, to make things easier if I wanted to reinstall it. Could this be affecting the FS spyware scanner? Is there a dedicated KIS removal tool available?
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    1.yes there is a dedicated kis6.0 removal tool
    http://support.kaspersky.com/downloads/kis6/kiskav6remove.zip
    you have to boot in to safe mode to use it thou.
    2. i think they mean they are using kav extended databases.]
    check in the updates packages in the settings and one of the packages should be labeled avp extended which is kaspersky extended databases.
    lodore
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.