F-Secure AV Engines

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Feb 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,296
    If I remember correctly F-Secure AV has at least 5 different engines, to include Kaspersky and AdAware. What are the engines? I have found them in the past, but cannot find them now.

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  2. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Libra = F-Prot´s macro and script scanner.
    DeepGuard = Norman Sandbox (?)
     
  3. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    [going from memory here]

    AVP: Kaspersky
    Libra: FS's signature base
    Orion: FS's heuristics base
    Draco: AdAware(?, since they have implied that '07 has a new AS engine)
    BlackLight: FS's Rootkit detection
     
  4. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,851
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    Pegasus: Norman
     
  5. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,528
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
  6. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,528
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    nevermind... damn you Google!

    http://www.f-secure.com/f-secure/pressroom/protected/prot-3-2006/17-459-3669.shtml
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,100
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    thanks Namor. Interesting reading.
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,100
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
  9. Simon6776

    Simon6776 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Posts:
    282
    Ah, now this is very interesting:-

    I wonder if this could be connected with my F-Secure spyware scanner crashing? Before I installed FSIS 2007, I has KIS on board, and when I removed KIS, I elected to save the licensing info, and other settings, including iSwift and iChecker data, to make things easier if I wanted to reinstall it. Could this be affecting the FS spyware scanner? Is there a dedicated KIS removal tool available?
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,041
    1.yes there is a dedicated kis6.0 removal tool
    http://support.kaspersky.com/downloads/kis6/kiskav6remove.zip
    you have to boot in to safe mode to use it thou.
    2. i think they mean they are using kav extended databases.]
    check in the updates packages in the settings and one of the packages should be labeled avp extended which is kaspersky extended databases.
    lodore
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.