f-secure 2011 beta

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by lodore, Jun 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,036
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2010
  2. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,959
    Change log from F-Secure website:

    What's new in Internet Security 2011
    - Easier and faster to use -- Based on multiple usability studies, the user interface of IS 2011 has been improved, giving you an easy access to the most important tasks and features.
    - Reliable protection -- Automated malware removal logic has been taken to a new level by utilizing prevalence information from F-Secure cloud services, making your Internet use safer with minimum distraction from virus alerts.
    - Easier to take into use -- Thanks to enhanced installation, restarting is no longer required on Windows Vista and Windows 7. This applies only to new installations.
     
  3. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    What Engine does it use?
     
  4. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,959
    Bitdefender + Inhouse engine
     
  5. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,481
    Tried it before, seemed good but i still preferred others :D
     
  6. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,959
    The new deepguard 3 is in the version which has a cloud checkup for Deepguard alerts to lower the amount of popups.
     
  7. databb

    databb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    Anyone tried this new beta? How is it on resource usage? Is it lighter than 2010 version?
     
  8. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,481
    Oh, i remember no why i uninstalled it.
    They forced me to uninstall Panda Cloud AV and i didn't like that :D
     
  9. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Tested for about 30-45 minutes if not less, then uninstalled.

    Reasons: Too many pop-ups. When testing a fake/rogue AV (inside SBIE), FS2011 didn't give as much as a text phrase. So when you're running regular, legit and well-known software it wants to bug the user one big lot, but not at all when actually running something malicious/dangerous - good call...
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,036

    what sort of popups and on what programs?
     
  11. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Can't remember all software, but I'll mention the ones I use regularly that I can think of now below. The pop-ups was a mix of the FW and Program Control I believe, dunno if DeepGuard was involved, actually don't think so at least. To me it doesn't matter - a pop-up is a pop-up in any case and it disrupts me like it does for others, possibly much more for novices.


    Regularly used and common software:

    Google Talk
    Opera
    Dragonica (game)
    Spotify
    MyDefrag
    Startup Delayer
    MSN Messenger/Windows Live Messenger
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,036
    I dont see a problem with one firewall popup per application.
    how is that nagging?
     
  13. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    How is it that after all these years they can't implement any intelligence to allow known, legit programs? Did you really think I meant anything else?
     
  14. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    i tried it out on a test machine and it was bugging me over and over about the jungledisk backup utility. OMG WOULD YOU LIKE TO ALLOW THIS <check the box not to ask again> <click allow>..2 seconds later, same thing. super annoying.
     
  15. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,528
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Has Deepguard always had the file submission option?

    Deepguard.png

    Deepguard2.png
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,036
  17. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,528
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO

    hmm... Never noticed it before.
     
  18. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,296
    Although I am not using it now, FS always ran well on my systems.
    I'm depending upon my friend Lodore to give me an expert assessment of 2011.:thumb:

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  19. sjrysb

    sjrysb Lurker

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Does it still use Bitdefender engine o_O
     
  20. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,528
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Yeah, it has the BD.dll file in the AV folder.
     
  21. MakePB

    MakePB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    Find-IP-Address.org
    I'm really tired of Bitdefender engine. It is absolute paranoid and i have never get more false positive than this year.
    It seems that it mark every unknown file as potential trojan (generic trojan).
    I have submitted a couple files to F-secure and it was confirmed that all were clean.

    After 5 years using F-secure i'm thinking seriously to change F-secure and find a less irritant AV.
    I miss Kaspersky engine?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.