f-secure 2011 beta

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by lodore, Jun 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2010
  2. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Change log from F-Secure website:

    What's new in Internet Security 2011
    - Easier and faster to use -- Based on multiple usability studies, the user interface of IS 2011 has been improved, giving you an easy access to the most important tasks and features.
    - Reliable protection -- Automated malware removal logic has been taken to a new level by utilizing prevalence information from F-Secure cloud services, making your Internet use safer with minimum distraction from virus alerts.
    - Easier to take into use -- Thanks to enhanced installation, restarting is no longer required on Windows Vista and Windows 7. This applies only to new installations.
     
  3. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    What Engine does it use?
     
  4. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Bitdefender + Inhouse engine
     
  5. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Tried it before, seemed good but i still preferred others :D
     
  6. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    The new deepguard 3 is in the version which has a cloud checkup for Deepguard alerts to lower the amount of popups.
     
  7. databb

    databb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    Anyone tried this new beta? How is it on resource usage? Is it lighter than 2010 version?
     
  8. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Oh, i remember no why i uninstalled it.
    They forced me to uninstall Panda Cloud AV and i didn't like that :D
     
  9. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Tested for about 30-45 minutes if not less, then uninstalled.

    Reasons: Too many pop-ups. When testing a fake/rogue AV (inside SBIE), FS2011 didn't give as much as a text phrase. So when you're running regular, legit and well-known software it wants to bug the user one big lot, but not at all when actually running something malicious/dangerous - good call...
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006

    what sort of popups and on what programs?
     
  11. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Can't remember all software, but I'll mention the ones I use regularly that I can think of now below. The pop-ups was a mix of the FW and Program Control I believe, dunno if DeepGuard was involved, actually don't think so at least. To me it doesn't matter - a pop-up is a pop-up in any case and it disrupts me like it does for others, possibly much more for novices.


    Regularly used and common software:

    Google Talk
    Opera
    Dragonica (game)
    Spotify
    MyDefrag
    Startup Delayer
    MSN Messenger/Windows Live Messenger
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I dont see a problem with one firewall popup per application.
    how is that nagging?
     
  13. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    How is it that after all these years they can't implement any intelligence to allow known, legit programs? Did you really think I meant anything else?
     
  14. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    i tried it out on a test machine and it was bugging me over and over about the jungledisk backup utility. OMG WOULD YOU LIKE TO ALLOW THIS <check the box not to ask again> <click allow>..2 seconds later, same thing. super annoying.
     
  15. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Has Deepguard always had the file submission option?

    Deepguard.png

    Deepguard2.png
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
  17. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum

    hmm... Never noticed it before.
     
  18. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Although I am not using it now, FS always ran well on my systems.
    I'm depending upon my friend Lodore to give me an expert assessment of 2011.:thumb:

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  19. sjrysb

    sjrysb Lurker

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Does it still use Bitdefender engine o_O
     
  20. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Yeah, it has the BD.dll file in the AV folder.
     
  21. MakePB

    MakePB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    Find-IP-Address.org
    I'm really tired of Bitdefender engine. It is absolute paranoid and i have never get more false positive than this year.
    It seems that it mark every unknown file as potential trojan (generic trojan).
    I have submitted a couple files to F-secure and it was confirmed that all were clean.

    After 5 years using F-secure i'm thinking seriously to change F-secure and find a less irritant AV.
    I miss Kaspersky engine?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.