Ezula in Process Guard

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Possum, Mar 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Possum

    Possum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    o_O Hi people :

    I just downloaded the free version of Process Guard - to try out before buying the full version. When I scanned the file with my AV, before installing, Norton told me that PG contained an infected spyware file - Ezula adware - and warned me to delete the whole file (which, incidentally, Norton was unable to do). I am kind of surprised, and haven't installed the program. Unless I missed something, I didn't see anywhere that the free version was adware... ??

    Btw, I have both TDS and Port Explorer (registered) - more than happy with both :D
     
  2. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    This is a false positive by Norton. It shows up on both the trial version and the licensed version of PG. This started a week or so again on an NAV definitions update. I see it on my licensed version and also Norton's failed to remove message. I added PG as an Exclude in NAV.
     
  3. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Possum, Providing you downloaded from www.diamondcs.com.au you will be safe. DCS never have any sort of spyware in their products. :D


    *Edit by Jason - corrected URL*
     
  4. Wayne - DiamondCS

    Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,533
    Location:
    Perth, Oz
    possum, siliconman, it'd be very much appreciated if you contact Symantec about this false positive so that they can rectify the problem by finding a stronger signature to use for the Ezula detection. There is certainly no adware, spyware or anything of the sort in any of our software and Symantec can confirm that.

    Thanks,
    Wayne
     
  5. siliconman01

    siliconman01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Posts:
    780
    Location:
    West Virginia (USA)
    will do... ;)
     
  6. Possum

    Possum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    ;) Guys, yes, I sure downloaded from the official Diamond site - but I'm going to contact Symantec about the false alarm - and I'm also going to install PG :D Thanx for the replies.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.