Extra privacy tips for IE and FF

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by CloneRanger, Mar 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    If you're concerned about such matters, then there are some things you might like to know, and do, if you don't already.


    DOMStorage in IE and FF and UserData in IE

    Firefox

    webappsstore.sqllite

    C:\Users\xxxx\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\xxxxxxxxxx.default\webappsstore.sqlite

    http://nukeit.org/whats-lurking-in-your-webappsstore-sqlite-database-firefox/


    Internet Explorer

    DOMStorage

    C:\Documents and Settings\[my user name]\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\DOMStore

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc197062(VS.85).aspx

    Internet Explorer

    UserData

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms531424(VS.85).aspx

    You can disable 'UserData Persistence' in all IE zones, that includes the extra local one you can enable, My Computer = Zone 0

    udp.gif

    Zones 1 - 4 should be already visable in IE options, Zone 0 probably won't be.

    How to enable Zone 0

    zones.gif

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones

    Don't mess with the Registry unless you are 100% sure ! Make a back up if in doubt.

    Other browsers should have similar areas you could cover.
     
  2. mvario

    mvario Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Posts:
    339
    Location:
    Haddonfield, IL
    The BetterPrivacy addon for Firefox can be configured to auto-delete dom storage.

    Dom storage can also be disabled in FF with about:config Dom.storage.enabled
     
  3. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    I had not see a fix for IE
     
  4. ploder

    ploder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Posts:
    38
    What about Opera?
     
  5. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @mvario

    Yes i already use both, good tip :thumb: and it's also mentioned in one of the links.

    @caspian

    ? Isn't what you want in the DOMStore info etc.

    @ploder

    Don't know as i don't use it, but i guess it has something similar ? What does google etc say ? If you find anything of value post back with it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.