External usb drive not visible when booting from CD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by GaryB, May 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GaryB

    GaryB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    North Vancouver, Canada
    (created new thread)
    Created image with TI8 and stored it on external usb IoGear drive, no problem. Can boot with Rescue CD, but external drive not seen.

    Rescue CD works, but I can't see my usb external drive where my backup image is stored. I have an IoGear 80G COMBO 3.5" ION Drive-GHD335C80. Per Everest, actual drive is a Hitachi (HDS72808 0PLAT20 USB)

    TI boot CD created is "full", so it should see usb devices on boot up. Left external drive powered on through entire boot cd creation process, and on reboot. Tried "quieti=noapci" workaround, but no luck.

    I will send the sysinfo.txt file to support and see what happens.

    Giga-byte 6vxc7_4x_p
    ami bios
    p3 933
    w2k sp4
    512meg
    Quantum 13G
    Fujitsu 9G
    IoGear 80G COMBO 3.5" ION Drive - GHD335C80*
    (*actual drive is Hitachi HDS72808 USB)
    Sony 52X
    Plextor 12-10-32
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2005
  2. Euser

    Euser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Posts:
    32
    Request the Bart's PE plugin from support and build the bootable cd. Do a forum search for Bart's PE plugin and you will see that this is the answer to your problem. After you have done this take a look at Ulitmate Boot CD for Windows Creating this CD is not as hard as it may look and has some very useful utilities (saved my bacon many times ;) ).
    The acronis bootable cd uses linux which is incompatible with many external enclosures/hard drives. The Bart's PE uses a bootable windows environment.
     
  3. GaryB

    GaryB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    North Vancouver, Canada
    Thx. D'loaded Bart's PE and will check it out. Have asked for the plug-in support from Support. When I check the IoGear external drive spec's, it does not indicate support for Linux, so you may have hit the problem. To be continued.......
     
  4. GaryB

    GaryB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    North Vancouver, Canada
    Could the problem potentially be that I am running the external drive through a chain of 2 external usb hubs? Could it be that I just have to hook up the external directly to a usb slot on the pc as opposed to through an external hub?

    Anyone else that is having problems with TI booting from rescue cd and not seeing external drive, are you running through an external hub or attached directly?? For those not having problems, are you directly attached or through a hub?
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Gary,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    It is quite difficult to tell the exact reason why Acronis Bootable CD doesn't recognize the drive. Since you have already sent the diagnostic info we will tell you the reason soon. If you don't get any response within 48 hours please let me know your Acronis request # which was sent to you in autoreply.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  6. GaryB

    GaryB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    North Vancouver, Canada
    ...being the geek that I am, I decided to try my own solution. I detached the external drive from the external usb hub, and plugged it directly into the usb port on my pc. Now, I CAN see my external IoGear hard drive. I only have 2 usb ports on my pc. I've now decided to install a 5-port usb pci card, and will plug as many usb devices as possible into the card directly, as opposed to daisy-chaining them with a couple of usb hubs.

    Note: I have to say that I only came up with this idea as a potential solution by checking out GHOST. During the test cloning phase, a warning popped up saying that I couldn't continue because my current configuration (i.e. hub-external hard drive) wouldn't allow it. It suggested plugging directly into the usb ports on the pc, which I did. I then ran through a test with TI, and it saw the external drive.

    Man, I would NOT want to be a tech. support person nowadays!! If we all upgraded our pc's every two years to the latest and greatest, maybe some of these problems wouldn't occur, but in the "real world," I don't think that's the case. I've always bought used &/or configured my own pc and practised by ripping them apart and upgrading them myself. That way, I've never been intimidated by it. It's a good learning experience, and great "bonding time" with my son. I couldn't rebuild my car transmission, but I have no problem with pc's!!! :rolleyes:

    I'll keep the forum updated re. my progress. re. installing a new 80G hard drive as my primary C:\. and cloning my current c:\ over to the new drive.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2005
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.