External Hard drive

Discussion in 'hardware' started by samy, Oct 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    I just got a new external Hardrive (WD 2 tera) to be used for backup and in replacement of the old one.
    I found out that my PC cannot boot when the external HD is connected . The boot process freezes. If I disconnect the HD from the PC, the boot process can continue running.
    When I connect the HD to the already running PC, the HD is shown 'normally'.

    My previous HD, also a WD 2 tera has not this problem
    Is this issue related to a Bios configuration?

    thanks
     
  2. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    An external HDD should not be plugged in all the time anyways. I plug mine in ONLY when I image or backup. It could be a bios setting. Be sure your first boot device is your internal HDD.
     
  3. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    samy, check you BIOS boot-sequence order first and make sure you don't see "removeable device" in there.

    I have seen an older Dell desktop machine that did the same thing (hung up at boot) when a USB flash drive was installed and there was NO setting in the BIOS for it.
     
  4. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    Hi Aventador and thank you for your prompt answer.

    1. My previous external HD was continually connected to the PC and had not this issue.
    2. I wanted to partition the new HD using a bootable partitioning CD. The same problem occurred. The bootable CD ran only after I disconnected the HD.
    When I reconnected the HD the 'CD boot process' freezes again.
    3. Is it possible to partition it 'from Windows' using Windows disk Management.

    thanks
     
  5. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,278
    There shouldn´t be any problem booting Windows with an external HD connected, as long as the system doesn´t try to boot from it.

    Check the boot order in the BIOS configuration and change it so that the internal disk is listed before the external one.
     
  6. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    I checked the Bios order:
    First Bios Device: CDRom
    Second Bios Device: Hard drive

    As I mentioned, the PC is booting when the previous external drive (same size as the new one) is connected and the bootable CD is also running.
    I connected a different external HD (Hard Disk Passport) and the PC boot normally.
    The issue is with the new one. Is this problem related to USB3 ?
     
  7. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,278
    When you boot with the new disk connected, and you press F12 (or similar, depending on the computer) so that the boot menu appears, does the new disk appear on the boot list? It should appear as "Hard Disk - USB HDD0", or something similar.
     
  8. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    Once again I will say that an external HDD should not and does not need to be connected 24/7. Its a backup drive. Why don't you try formatting it first. Most external drives come with pre-installed crap.
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Sure.
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    "An external HDD should not be plugged in all the time anyways"

    WHYo_O o_O o_O
     
  11. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    Cause its a backup drive only. No need to put wear and tear on it. I have a 1TB FreeAgentGo. It can fit in my pocket. I plug it into my laptop. Backup and run an disk image. Uplug it and put it away. Going on 3 years now of the same drive.
     
  12. guest

    guest Guest

    All my External Drives are 3.5inch drives mounted in cases,
    they are always connected as far as the wiring is concerned
    all have OFF-ON switches that I use as needed
     
  13. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I know many people that leaves their external drives plugged in the whole time and only take it off when really needed. :)
     
  14. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    I had same problem awhile back with flash drives. Aaagh. Why didn't I post in Wilders for suggestions?? I ended up re-formatting. Damn.

    I hated Externals. Always a failure sooner or later. My tower can hold up to four internal 3.5"s.
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    If they are connected to power or to your computer via a cable, an electrical surge could cause damage to them. Unlikely but possible.

    I'm with Aventador. Why take a risk of losing your backup data?
     
  16. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,238
    Possibly there is a BIOS update that will fix this. I've witnessed the same behaviour intermittently on an ASUS Z81K laptop
     
  17. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    I found that the HD (WD My Book Essential 2 TB) had the user manual on it together with the WD SmartWare program (for automatic continuous backup).
    In the user manual (FAQ) i found out the following:
    I visited WD support site but didn't find ID 1201 ?

    Note: I have a feeling that if I remove the installed files (WD SmartWare program) in the HD root and reformatting it the problem can be solved

    Any suggestions?
    Thanks
     
  18. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    I already said to reformat it. Western Digtal cones with preinstalled software. If you don't use it then format it.
     
  19. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,238
    Here is is: http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers...ing-a-pc-with-an-external-usb-drive-connected

    Removing the install files will have zero effect on the problems you are having.
     
  20. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    I rechecked the BIOS menu.
    Their is no "USB-..." option in the Boot menu

    First Bios Device: CDRom
    Second Bios Device: Hard drive
    Third Bios Device: Disabled

    Adding a USB, or Floppy, or other device in the the Bios menu (to Boot from) has to be done manually after clicking on "First Bios Device", which open a subsequent menu, and changing the 'CDRom' to that device (i.e. USB-HDD, or USB-Zip, or Floppy, etc.).

    I will try reformatting it.
     
  21. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    As I stated earlier on, I worked on an older system that absolutely would not boot if a USB flash drive was attached to the machine. Just for grins, I made that same flash drive bootable, and the problem went away. On this system the BIOS order was cd-rom then hard drive; I looked for an updated BIOS for this machine and there was none.
     
  22. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    I reformatted the HD and partitioned it within Windows.
    The same issue remaining.

    What makes me upset is that I have two similar external HD (same brand: WD, and same size: 2TB). the old one is 'My Book Elite' I purchased 18 months ago, and the new one 'My book Essential' i just purchased (on sale) two days ago.
    The lonely difference I can see is with the end-up cable connection to the HD.
    The Elite one is a USB 2 compatible with USB 3 while the Essential is a USB 3 (next Generation) compatible with USB 2.
    I have also an old 2.5" Passport external HD (80GB).
    When the Elite and the Passport HD's are connected to the PC it boots with no problem.
    I may assume it is not a Bios setup issue.
     
  23. Aventador

    Aventador Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Posts:
    420
    Leave it unplugged. Problem solved. Its that easy.
     
  24. rrrh1

    rrrh1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Posts:
    202
    Western digital has a fake cd setup on some of their external hdd there was software on their site to hide it but they say it cannot be removed.

    see:

    --http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/search/1/a_id/3835/c/130/p/228,209,316--

    --http://support.wdc.com/product/kb.asp?groupid=125&lang=en--

    rrrh1 (arch1)
     
  25. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,278
    Then the cause of the problem may be that the system tries to boot from the virtual CD, and the solution would be to change the boot order so that the hard disk appears before the CD.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.