external hard disk 1.5t help

Discussion in 'hardware' started by mantra, May 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    Hi

    i bought a WESTERN DIGITAL Elements Desktop 1,5TB

    but i have a problem , connected to the pc , turn on the pc and the bios does want to boot
    auto-detecting usb mas storage device... no booting

    i disconnect the usb cable of the hard disk , in the bios i set up usb legacy OFF
    now it boots

    but i can not use recovery cd like acronis or paragon because my keyboard logithech is not active

    is there a fix?

    and i did plug and unplug the hard disk many times when the drive was connected to the power

    does/did it damage the hard disk ?


    thanks
    cheers
     
  2. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Basically, it is trying to boot from external hard and since it doesn't find the bootmgr on it, the computers stays blinking. Once you disconnect, the computer boots from the bootmgr from your internal hard disk.

    You can press F12 on boot. It will give you a menu to boot from. Choose the proper internal drive which has the bootmgr and then boot.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    but the bios did freeze , i can only reset it
    disabled legacy , it works great

    but about plug and unplug the usb cable could damage the drive?

    thanks
     
  4. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    You need to turn on the F12 menu in the BIOS. Or simply push the ESC key while booting is starting.

    I don't think you damaged the drive yet, but it could.

    Best regards,

    KOR!

    P.S. I have hooked up a regular PS2 keyboard and my Logitech Wave 24 keyboard with MX1000 mouse. This way you can disable the legacy support.
     
  5. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    Did you first setup the drive by connecting it to your computer when it was running? You need to do that for proper usb drive installation. Once the drive has been successfully installed, partitioned and assigned drive letters from within windows, it should then work fine on reboot.

    You do not need to change anything in the bios for a usb external drive, unless you plan to boot from that drive.

    I suggest first setup the drive from within windows, then reset your bios to its default setting and then see if you still have this problem.
     
  6. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    can you please give a look ?
    -http://en.kioskea.net/forum/affich-53951-wdelements-1tb-external-drive-issues
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    hi
    thanks
    it's hard to find a ps2 keyboard today

    but how can i shut down ?
    i mean disconnet from the power
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2012
  8. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    I read the referenced link but could not figure out if those people were trying to boot from their external drive or they just had the external drive connected at the time of the boot. The only reason the BIOS will hang on a usb connected hard drive is if the primary boot option is set to boot from the usb drive. I recommend you check your boot preferences and set the primary boot drive as the internal drive. In theory, this should solve your problem.
     
  9. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Maybe the usb where you are trying to plug the external hard disk is in short circuit. Have you tried to plug into another usb connector?

    Are you sure that the HD is not like this?:D
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 27, 2012
  10. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    in my bios there is only the setting to use my first hard disk to boot
    so i guess it's not the problem
     
  11. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    thanks
    i will try it
     
  12. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    How old is this system? Maybe you can check if there is a BIOS update for your system that will fix this problem.
     
  13. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    by the way , why is more slow booting w7 or xp with an extenal hard disk on ?

    thanks
     
  14. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Maybe because the external HD is first than the internal HD in boot device priority. If that's the case you can easily change that setting in the BIOS.
     
  15. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    @AlexC seeing that pic nearly made me spit my tea out! hahahaha :thumb:

    props for using 2 nuts to hold the dongle in the middle
     
  16. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Priceless! :D
     
  17. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    I think I found the answer you are looking for your WESTERN DIGITAL Elements Desktop 1,5TB.

    Is the above hard disk formatted with FAT32?

    If yes, and you have the USB legacy support "ON" then the system will not boot unless you disconnect the above drive.

    If you format the above with NTFS, then your problem will be solved. You will be able to boot without unplugging the hard disk, still with the USB legacy support "ON".

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  18. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    Kor are you sure?
    i will try it
    but the problem looks common with 4 years old computer , my laptop for example

    by the way if i try to click f2 to select the device to boot , there is not the external hard disk
    in short the external usb hard disk is not listened in the boot device...
     
  19. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    I am almost sure. If you don't much data on it, then you can move the data and format with NTFS. See if works, I think it will.

    Best regards,

    KOR!


    P.S. I have test it on my 5 years old computer, with 16GB Flash Drive. With FAT32 it doesn't boot, but with NTFS it does.
     
  20. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi mantra,

    Any joy?

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  21. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    hi
    seems to work!

    but i have 2 partitions
    the first ntfs and second fat32
    i guess i have to convert the fat32 in ntfs too

    did you try to connect an usb hard disk

    thanks KOR!
     
  22. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi Mantra,

    I have a five years old machine, and I seem to remember when I had an external HD connected to it and formatted with NTFS it worked, but it didn't work if formatted with FAT32. I no longer have an external hard drive connected to this machine.

    However, on the same computer, couple of days ago, I tried a 16GB flash drive and again I got the same results with it.

    If it works for you, with first partition as NTFS and the second one as FAT32 and you want to leave as is, then don't convert it. However, I am more of a fan of newer technologies and I would convert it.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  23. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,152
    by the way i found this too
    should work too!
     
  24. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    HAHAHAHA this was epic man. :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.