External Drive not Recognized

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by leehigdon3, Jun 26, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. leehigdon3

    leehigdon3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Plano, TX USA
    If I connect to my WD External Combo drive via USB, I can recognize the drive and any images I make in both Windows and when I boot from the Acronis Boot CD from PCDOS. If I connect via Firewire, I can only recognize the drive in Windows. when I boot from the Acronis Boot CD I made, from PCDOS, I get an error message when I try to access the WD combo drive. It tells me it can't reconize it.

    I've tried to get help from Acronis support at least twice and can't get an answer.

    Anyone here help me?
     
  2. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Sounds like either a driver related issue or the infamous "Acronis is behind the curve when it comes to hardware support" gremlin popping its head up.

    What OS?
     
  3. leehigdon3

    leehigdon3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Plano, TX USA
    WindowsXP, SP1. I've a Compaq Presario, 6000 series. The strange thing is, when I *previously* used Ghost, I could only see the drive via Firewire, not USB when booting from PCDOS. With Acronis, it's the exact opposite. (BTW-Ghost was uninstalled completely-including all registry entries).
     
  4. leehigdon3

    leehigdon3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Plano, TX USA
    Anyone from Acronis support who might be reading here, feel free to jump in and make a (any) recommendation(s). Don't be shy.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello --

    Thank you for taking the time to contact us and for your interest in Acronis
    True Image (http://www.acronis.com/products/trueimage/)!

    Hmm, actually I believe it's a driver issue. Please, can you tell me the model of your external drive and I'll pass it on to our developers and testers, so that we could test it and add a fix to the driver?

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Anton Gromov

    Acronis, Inc.
    395 Oyster Point Blvd. Suite 213
    South San Francisco
    CA 94080 USA
    http://www.acronis.com/

    Acronis... Compute with confidence
     
  6. leehigdon3

    leehigdon3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Plano, TX USA
    Thanks for your reply. It's a Western Digital 120 GB USB/FireWire Combo Drive, Model WDXC1200JBRNN. Please let me know if you need any additional information.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello --

    Yeah, can you also please do the following?

    - Create bootable rescue diskettes;
    - Open the bootwiz.cfg file on the first diskette;
    - Remove the "quiet" keyword from the last line;
    - Boot the computer from the bootable rescue diskettes and wait for # prompt to appear;
    - Issue the following commands:
    mkdir mntdir
    mount /devfs/floppy/0 mntdir
    cat /proc/bus/usb/devices > mntdir/usb.txt
    umount mntdir
    - Send me the usb.txt file from the diskette.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Anton Gromov

    Acronis, Inc.
    395 Oyster Point Blvd. Suite 213
    South San Francisco
    CA 94080 USA
    http://www.acronis.com/

    Acronis... Compute with confidence
     
  8. leehigdon3

    leehigdon3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Plano, TX USA
    I'll take care of that tonight when I get home. Assume you want this done on the machine I have the firewire/USB Connection? To what email address do I send it? Or do I post it on this forum?
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello --

    Either send it here on forum or to ag-at-acronis.com

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Anton Gromov

    Acronis, Inc.
    395 Oyster Point Blvd. Suite 213
    South San Francisco
    CA 94080 USA
    http://www.acronis.com/

    Acronis... Compute with confidence
     
  10. leehigdon3

    leehigdon3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Plano, TX USA
    For some reason, after making six floppy disks and trying to boot, I get read errors on disk 2. The disk is fine and can be read in windows. I've reformatted and tried again. Same issue. I don't have more floppies handy; I don't use them for anything, anyway.

    Something I don't recall if I mentioned previously is the first error I get when I first boot from the Acronis Boot CD:

    ieee1394:CinfigROM quadlet transaction error for node 0-00:1023

    After about 60 seconds or so, I get the Acronis PCDOS menu and of course, can't see my WD External Hard Drive.

    Does that error message help in figuring out why I can use the Firewire port with Acronis Recovery Manager? I'd really like not to fool around with a bunch of floppies to try to figure this out.

    Thanks in advance
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Please contact me (as you are not registered here and I can't send you the private message) for the special link for the build that might solve the problem.

    Thank you.
     
  12. leehigdon3

    leehigdon3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Plano, TX USA
    You can email me at: leehigdon3 at comcast dot net. Thanks for your help.
     
  13. leehigdon3

    leehigdon3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Plano, TX USA
    I tried build 627 to see if the problem I reported in this thread was finally resolved. It is not. While I no longer get this error message when I Boot from the Acronis build 627 boot CD:

    ieee1394:ConfigROM quadlet transaction error for node 0-00:1023[/B]

    I still cannot "see" the WD External HD when it is connected via firewire. If connected via USB 2.0 port, no problem.
     
  14. A|ex

    A|ex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    82
    i hav someone with a similar problem, the WD external drive doesnt seem to be getting detected with both usb 2 and firewire.
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello A|ex,

    Could you please let us know what version of Acronis True Image causes the problem? Have you tried the "acpi=off noapic" workaround (please see https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=55317)? Have you tried to boot from "Safe" and "Full" version of Acronis Bootable CD?

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.