Explorer.exe Outbound connections

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by A1SteakSauce, May 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. A1SteakSauce

    A1SteakSauce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    88
    Should I allow explorer.exe to have outbound connections? My internet was very slow, then I blocked explorer.exe and it is fast again.
     
  2. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    You could have a Virus might want to run a scan
     
  3. Minimax2000

    Minimax2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I block all activity for explorer.exe in OSS. Explorer.exe is not allowed to have any inbound and outbound connections.
     
  4. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    I also block Explorer.exe, it doesn't need to make any outboud connections.

    I also recommend virus scans if your connection is slow when you let Explorer.exe make outbound connections.
     
  5. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    I think explorer.exe shouldn't have outbound connections:D .I heard somebody said explorer.exe have to have outbound connections in VPN,but I don't know if it is right:ninja: .
     
  6. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    It is not unusual for explorer.exe to request outbound when performing a search for files\folders etc. Have long since blocked it`s access to both the LAN I am on as well as the Internet with no known ill affect.

    A VPN may be a different story. I have no idea.

    Still would not hurt to double check you machine for infection as Explorer.exe is a known exploitable target.

    o_O Side note. Print Spooler sub-system is another one that will consistently ask for Internet access. Unless you are on a LAN with a shared printer I have never figured out or been able to find out why it requires Internet access. :cautious:
     
  7. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    Explorer.exe can act as a browser (like I.E.), in which case it needs outward connection. Personally I don't use this function of Explorer.exe and prefer to keep it blocked. If you set it to 'ask' it will keep asking, which is a nuisance, so better to block until you actually need it.
     
  8. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Just adding my 5cents:
    Explorer needs network access if for whatever reason you need to search for files over the internet or LAN. At home, it can be restricted to LAN IPs only.Best not to Automatically search for network drives (Folder options > View). I see no point having to search anything. Filesharing on a home LAN works fine without it. Never needed to change explorer setting for VPN connection to work. If I get there and have the rights to access directories, it works with nothing done on my part.

    Spooler needs to have internet access if and only if you're in a corporate network and the printer is few floors away. Otherwise, at home it can be set to only go out to the LAN printer, and if no such is used, I would just stop the spooler service altogether. JMO.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.