Exclusions between KIS 2012 and WSA

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by aieie, Jan 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aieie

    aieie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Posts:
    175
    Hi.

    I was wondering which WSA Essentials components are to be put in KIS exclusion list in order for the two apps to peacefully coexist?
    I was thinking of exluding the single files, not the entire WSA directory.

    And from WSA side is it enough to put KIS program directory in the exclusions?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Just don't let KIS block anything of WSA and I wouldn't be concerned of exclusions for KIS in WSA!

    TH
     
  3. aieie

    aieie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Posts:
    175
    Thanks for your reply.

    With "anything of WSA" you mean every .exe in WSA program dir or is there something more to allow?

    Thanks in advance
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm just saying don't let KIS HIPS and Firewall block anything of WSA!

    WRusr.dll in Windows>System32 Folder!

    WRkrn.sys in Windows>System32 Folder>Drivers Folder!

    WRSA.exe in the Webroot Folder in Program Files will need full access to the net!

    WRData Folder in Program Data

    HTH,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  5. aieie

    aieie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Posts:
    175
    hi :)

    The WRSA.exe i could've found but there was no way i could've excluded WRusr.dll and WRkrn.sys before your answer because i didn't know they even existed :)

    Many many thanks for these info

    Best Regards
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Anytime! ;)

    Cheers,

    TH
     
  7. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    768
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    So if I am reading this post right, Install WSA and leave it as is, no exclusions. If your running another antivirus program or security program in real-time (NIS, KIS, MSE, MBAM Pro, SAS Pro......) Do not put WSA on their exclusion list.
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You don't have to just as long the other product does not block or try to remove anything that has to do with WSA! I said before that I use WSA & VIPRE AV in my VM's without Exclusions and they work very well together! ;)

    HTH,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012
  9. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    768
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    OK, Thank you TH. :)
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Your very welcome! ;)

    TH
     
  11. STV0726

    STV0726 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Posts:
    900
    I have used Prevx 3.0 with ESET Smart Security 4 for about a year and had no conflicts.

    I have been using Prevx 3.0 and now Webroot SecureAnywhere Essentials with Microsoft Security Essentials for probably 1-2 years now with no conflicts.

    Prevx/WSA was on Maximum Self-Protect all the time. Still no conflicts.

    I think from what Joe has told me is if there is a conflict it tends to be from another HIPS product blocking something WSA does. The conflicts tend not to be, however, serious system slow-downs or major issues that can't be fixed with a simple exclusion.

    I'd rather add the exclusion and leave the self-prot on maximum, but that's just me.
     
  12. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Would WSA Complete have any compatibility issues with Kaspersky IS 2012 that anyone can think of?

    I am wondering if I need to disable the firewall on WSA since Kaspersky has its own.
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No you can run both as WSA is designed to work with other AV's and Firewalls just make sure KIS does not block any of WSA's files!

    WRusr.dll in Windows>System32 Folder!

    WRkrn.sys in Windows>System32 Folder>Drivers Folder!

    WRSA.exe in the Webroot Folder in Program Files will need full access to the net!

    WRData Folder in Program Data

    TH
     
  14. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Thanks for the reply Helix. I'll add those files as exceptions for now and see how it goes. So far so good :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.